We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be advised! Cottages beautiful as advertised but no notice of vicious “noseeums” flea/mosquitos in area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Dolphin Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

While not the responsibility of the management of the Blue Dolphin cottages, the Sanibel area has a problem with “noseeums” flea/mosquitos. Please do your own research and Google noseeums or sanibel noseeums. When we checked in we mentioned that this was our first time in Sanibel. Nothing was mentioned about the noseeums. No warning about what happens at dusk, on their property, with these creatures.
The day after my two night visit I developed welts with terrible 24 hour itches over most of my body with a visit to a Dermatologist necessary. It is a week later and I am still suffering. They don’t attack everyone; my wife was left completely alone. Here is what is amazing: I called the cottages and started to tell about my problem. The woman in the office interrupted me and said she knew it was the noseeums and how bad they are and what I should have done to prevent them. Yet the management doesn’t seem to think it’s important enough to give their guests any warning about the problem. If you go to these cottages be warned to prevent this terrible situation.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
16  Thank ear41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

We are sorry that you had a bad experience on Sanibel. Previous guests have commented on the pest problems and their reactions. We hope you enjoyed some of the amentities the Blue Dolphin offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 246 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

Got to the Island power was out, encouraged to have dinner in town, meal @ Docs was fabulous. The room decor has not been upgraded since the 60'smaid did not clean/change sheets or towels Sat.Major fly
infestationon the property,unable to enjoy the patio or outside without being eaten up.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank alluwant65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

We are sorry that you were dissapointed with your recent stay on Sanibel. It was unfortunate that there was an Island wide black out when you came to checkin.
Our policies are clearly stated on our website. We keep fresh linens in our laundry room to be exchanged when needed. Our rooms are updated. We take pride in the awards we receive and the comments our guests make when they notice a change or upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in cottage 8, a deluxe efficiency. We had never been to Sanibel and we chose Blue Dolphin because of the reviews by repeat visitors and the rather secluded location within a neighborhood. We could not have been more pleased. The location is amazing and I see why others visit year after year.

The rooms are nothing fancy but are clean, have everything you need and are truly right on the palm tree lined beach. It was great to have a fridge. We bought beach snacks at the wonderful grocery on the island and ingredients for Painkillers (don't forget the nutmeg!) and posted our loungers and blue umbrella on the beach. It was heaven! Blue water, white sand, loaded with shells and very uncrowded. While we were there we saw numerous birds and a pod of dolphin swam right up to the swimmers on the shoreline! I have never seen anything like it; maybe it was the Super Moon!

The numerous repeat visitors are glad to give friendly tips on how to set-up your beach spot and places to visit on the island. The fruit, breads and coffee in the morning are nice to have. The Blue Dolphin is pretty much perfect. We hope to return soon.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
9  Thank kimmieokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for expressing your experience with us. We hope to see you again as a "repeat visitor".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have stayed every year at the Blue Dolphin for several years and never disappointed, we have stayed in every room/cottage they have and its always amazing, we wont stay anywhere else on the Island!! Looking forward to being there again this June 2012.



Reed Brown

Room Tip: All their cottages/rooms are just a few steps from the beach and all are excellent, make your reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReedB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Welcome back. We are pleased that you remain a loyal fan of Blue Dolphin Cottages. We hope you have a wonderful vacation in June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was our first visit to Sanibel and we stayed in Blue Dolphin solely based on Trip Advisor reviews/ratings. We could not have been happier. It is small, beautiful, comfortable, and well-maintained in a tropical paradise-like setting. Quiet beach right at the door step with unbelievably lots of shelling; excellent sunset views, in the quietest part of the Island. The hotel personnel are very friendly and helpful. Beach toys, umbrellas, shovels, nets for shelling are available on the property for guest use. They have shelves outside to dry out washed/bleached shells. It felt like home; we sometimes left our doors open when going back & forth to the beach. There is no staff on property after 5 PM, so, the guests were all like neighbors, chatting up and exchanging tips. Really quiet beach, almost like a private beach. There were about 25 families on 1-mile stretch of the beach on a Saturday afternoon during spring break, which was unbelievable. At night, we rolled our beds on to the sundeck and slept under the stars & moon, listening to the gentle waves and rustle of the coconut/palm trees. We found buckets more of shells on the beach here than in our shelling cruise to Costa Coya. Really awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Manekshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

We are pleased that you found the Blue Dolphin homey and comfortable. We hope you will consider us the next time you plan a vacation to Sanibel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Last week we had our second stay at the Blue Dolphin. Fair warning: once you stay there, you will want to go back again and again. We are already talking about our next trip there! You are treated as family. The place is very clean, very peaceful. Breakfast is served every day, and there are always some homemade goodies. If you want to dine in, you have a charcoal grill at your disposal, along with all the utensils you need. What struck us on both our visits is that the other guests were either already repeat guests or were planning to become so! The owners are both very gracious people, and the manager was extremely helpful. Thank you so much, Blue Dolphin, for a wonderfully relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: Get Unit 6 or 7 for a view of the Gulf from your room! A little pricier, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for visiting with us again. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hard to beat weekend on Sanibel Island - we live 2 hours from Sanibel and have visited there many times - but this was our first time at the Blue Dolphin. We had such an enjoyable time while we were there, I scheduled another weekend in October before we left. We did not want for anything while we were there. Perfect place to stay. I just can't say enough good things about the place.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms and all of them are comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TampaTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

We are glad you are no longer a stranger and welcome you back in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
4.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,448 reviews
6.4 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,962 reviews
4.6 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Cottages

Address: 4227 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $134 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly refreshing vacation awaits you at the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We are a family owned, intimate and charming motel situated directly on a tranquil, white sandy beach on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. The Blue Dolphin Cottages offers a selection of accommodations in its 10 units, either bright and airy efficiencies or spacious one bedroom suites, all with completely equipped kitchens, phones and cable television. Each unit has a comfortable sun deck surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. With our compliments, you will enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing