We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home.......”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitchell's Sandcastles
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2010

My husband and I drove from Atlanta GA with our four teenagers and puppy for a short stay over the holiday break. After a ten hour drive, we pulled into Mitchell's, were greeted by one of the owners, Kim, and never looked back. We could not have found a better place to get away. The cottages are clean, cozy, and charming. The location could not have been better. We loved, loved our stay and even spent an extra night. We rode bikes, played ball, swam, hung out at the beach and found great shells. Joel could not have been nicer, calling for reservations for dinner, and giving us the ins and outs of the island. It was truly a home away from home and we were sad to leave. Thank you Joel and Kim! We are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 360 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2010

I’ve been visiting Sanibel for over 20 years but this is the first time staying at Sand Castles as we wanted to bring our dogs with us for Thanksgiving. Overall we had a great experience. We thought Sand Castles felt nicer and cleaner than a similar resort we stayed at in Sanibel. We had a studio but it was big enough for us for the weekend.
Some things we liked were the isolated section of beach surrounded by private houses not other resorts. Leaving towels in laundry basket on the porch and having them cleaned during day. Ability to use kayaks, bikes, etc. The low-key feel of the property. Most importantly, they are dog friendly! We would surely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank sungirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed for a week at Mitchell's in November. The property is really beautiful, with a lot of nice plants in a natural-like setting. One can tell the owners have put a lot of time and money into the property; there are a lot of newer plants and decor.

We stayed in unit #5. First thing we noticed is it was very clean. I did not notice any dirt or anything out of place. Very nice in that regard. It does share a wall with #6, but fortunately it's the kitchen/bathroom side and not the bedroom or living area. The bed was good, certainly not the best but was not uncomfortable either. I do think it could use an update as far as furniture and appliances go. Wicker everything....
The fridge was fine, but dishwasher and stove were old and a bit rickety, although they worked.

The 'couch' was entirely too small to relax comfortably, and the wicker arms made lying down for a nap impossible. Since it was dark after dinner, we liked to hang out and watch TV, but always ended up moving to the bedroom instead.

This unit has a newer screened in area on the back porch, which is on the ocean side, but you cannot see the ocean or watch the sunset from there. Although, you can just walk off the porch and up to the 'hill' that overlooks the beach to see it. Or sit in one of the many chairs provided that face the beach.

Kitchen had all the utensils and cookware we needed for the stay. Never used the grill, so cannot comment on it. We found (on our last day) plenty of extra towels in the bathroom vanity. However, to get fresh towels, simply place used towels into a basket provided and place the basket on the back porch by 11. Simple enough.

The best thing about this property are the extra amenities - there are tons of them! Bicycles, kayaks, tennis rackets and balls, and some we didn't even read about on the site such as beach chairs, umbrellas, shelling tools, sandcastle tools, and I even remember seeing some boogie boards. I happened to notice all of that while using one of the laundry rooms.

I was worried we may not be able to get a bike to use and would have to rent one, but there are a lot of bikes to select. I do think they could have someone come in twice a year or so to maintain the bikes though (rusty chains on some, definitely need oil, a bit of brake work, etc). Never had a problem from the bikes we used; just some squeak while pedaling or braking.

It was definitely quiet while we were here. Not for a lack of guests, just very peaceful.
Never got into the ocean to swim, was a bit chilly and dirty. But, the 2 heated pools at Mitchell's were perfect. Both were clean and there were plenty of pool towels available. I can only recall one trip to the pool when someone else was there as well.

We visited and walked many of the beaches on Sanibel, and one in Captiva, and without a doubt, the beach area around Mitchell's was the best for shelling. It was insane, actually. First time out to the beach we giggled for a good 20 minutes at the enormity of shells.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msfeagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Just returned from a terrific 1 week stay at Mitchell's with our close friends and their 4 children ... in addition to our 2. The location of Mitchell's is right on the beach, and access is easy. Each unit is a self contained cottage. Both families had the 3 bedroom cottages which provided ample space and were nicely furnished and clean and a nice kitchen (stocked with plates, pots, etc). All rooms even had their own flat screen TV. The resort is absolutely peaceful and low key, with a vast beach and great shelling. The kids loved the beach and enjoyed jumping the waves, until they noticed the shark fins .... then they loved the beach ... trying to see the sharks and dolphins! Amazing views less than 10' away!!

Cottages are clean, and recently renovated with newer appliances and even TV and WiFi. There is access to bikes, kayaks, tennis, shuffleboard.

Our objective was to get together with our family and our kids in a relaxing, stress free environment. This place fit the bill perfectly!! The kids (x6) loved running around the property (safely) playing whatever games they could imagine, hunting for shells and dolphins and sharks (small ones!). Spectacular scenery, wildlife, shelling and sunsets!

Joel and Kim are very hospitable owners who make every effort to make your stay memorable. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LotsaKids_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We booked Mitchell's Sandcastles after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. We have 4 kids and stayed at Ocean Mist, our friends with two children stayed at Breakers. This was a wonderful location for a family vacation. Accomodations were clean and spacious. The shelling on the beach was fantastic. There was tons of wildlife -- dolphins swimming by on the beach, amazing birds at Ding Darling Conservation Area, and even a shark sighting on the beach (about a 4-5 foot shark that came within several feet of shore). The kids got a real kick out of that, but it dampened our enthusiasm for swimming in the ocean.

Joel and Kim were helpful and friendly whenever called upon, and we thoroughly enjoyed their hospitality. We took the Sanibel Thriller excursion, and would highly recommend that to anyone who likes dolphins or has kids. Ate most of our meals in and enjoyed the beach, so we can't comment too much on restaurants.

As other reviewers have noted, this is a far cry from an all inclusive beach hotspot. If you want a quiet, beautiful spot on the beach that provides some great outdoor activities for kids and families, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixforthetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

we've stayed at both mitchell's and 40/15 under the previous ownership (before the resorts started going down hill) and have always loved it. now with the new owners, joel & kim, throwing a LOT of love (and money) at both of these resorts it is even better. perfect location, mere steps from the beach, lush foliage, quiet, relaxing, serene, wonderful smiling staff (always a good sign). joel & kim are very friendly & accommodating. what more can you ask for? we will most definately be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We had a very relaxing vacation at Mitchell's and would probably return. The location is amazing and it was quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagnoliaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,433 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
300 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
519 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
607 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's Sandcastles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Sandcastles

Address: 3951 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5298
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing