We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems Like Home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitchell's Sandcastles
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Seems Like Home”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We looked at a lot of places on Sanibel Island for our vacation and we were glad we found Mitchell's Sandcastles. We stayed at Sea Spray, the closest house to the ocean.

Pro's - awesome staff, location, quiet, two pools, free kayaks/bikes, great shelling, saw dolphins everyday, free beach chairs, grill outside our house, porch, price

Con's - cockroaches or something looking just like them in our house (we noticed them on our last night)

We would return to Mitchel's, great little place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank samonac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    69
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
128
161
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

The cabin was wonderful everything is provided . Would suggest a cookie sheet for oven use. All other pots and pans provided the beach was great for shelling I was lucky enough to find a sea horse horse conchs nutmegs and even a small wentletraps . The staff was helpful and they even have backhoes to use in shelling. They had a dishpan at the front porch door to rinse your sandy feet. What a great idea kept the sand down. They even provide charcoal and fluid. Will definitely come back. The beach is as advertised

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Mitchell's and it was hard to leave. Shelling was phenomenal. They have two pools, free use of kayaks, bikes, beach toys, chairs and umbrellas. Perfect for us since we flew in from out of state and didn't have all that with us. The house was clean inside, but the windows were filthy. Internet was spotty, and the cable TV was not working on a couple of TV's, and not at all for awhile on the TV in the living room. Cable guy came next day to fix it, but still, the TV situation is not ideal. We are spoiled with HD TV's, and their cable signal in regular definition, and the aspect ratio is off. But, I don't go to the beach to watch TV, right? We saw dolphins playing just off shore our first day there. House is comfortable, and staff friendly. Cottages are old, but kept up fairly well. To get a five "star" rating from me, there has to be better internet access, fast enough and strong enough to stream shows, especially if the TV's don't work. Did I mention the retro feel of the place? It's quiet, it feels like the kind of place my parents would have taken me when I was a kid in the seventies (if they could have afforded it), but with air conditioning and better plumbing. I'm trying to figure out a way to get back again...

Room Tip: We stayed in Breakers, a three bedroom house. Very spacious, and would not hesitate to visit again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Saralee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week there with our two sons and the place is beautiful. Everything is clean, the staff is very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a relaxing beach holiday it's the place to go. The beach is great, lots of birds and seashells.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ruhartma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Sanibel and the 3rd time we stayed at Mitchell's Sandcastles.
We are global fly fishing travellers (we travel the world for fly fishing) and Sanibel is an amazing place for catch big snooks from the beach or from the shore.
Moreover, if we had choosen Mitchell's Sandcastles all those times, it is just because all good things we and everybody says in the reviews are all true!
And important: In May, 2014, we will be there again, to catch the big one that broke the line!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luiz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My friends and I rented 2 of the 2 bedroom beach cottages at Mitchell's Sandcastles and we were oh so pleased with our weekend there. First the cottages are roomy, clean, well equipped and we had a beautiful view of the beach. The beach was just a short walk from our room deck and we enjoyed beautiful sunsets and sunrises. Tall Australian Pines provided shade and music in the breeze. Amazingly, Mitchells provides bikes, kayaks, beach chairs and umbrellas too - all included in the price which was very reasonable. They even worked with us to extend one cottage a day for some of us who could stay over. We loved it and intend to return again next year. So much better than condos or a hotel room!!.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the diagram of cottages to insure you get beach front. Or talk to the desk - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank merymeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Mitchell's Sandcastles is the best getaway a group of friends could wish for! Twice a year a group of women friends get together. We were locals so we knew we had a number of great places to choose from, but Mitchell's exceeded every expectation. The manager was helpful in locating the perfect cabins for us as our group swelled in number. We stayed in the 9 an 10 cabins which are on stilts and gave us a spectacular view of the sunsets. Mitchell's is away from the more hotel dense end of the island so we nearly had the beach to ourselves!
The cabins had well equipped kitchens and were decorated in a relaxed island style without be kitchy. There was plenty to do. A number of us availed ourselves to bicycles and took a long morning ride on Sanibel's wonderful bike pathes. There were kayaks and paddle boards too, but many of our group could not be tempted off the porch where we watched dolphin, osprey,pelicans and other shore birds.
We are already planning our next visit! Thank you Joel and staff!

Room Tip: For a larger group, cabins 9 and 10 had an excellent elevated view of the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,297 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
268 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,781 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's Sandcastles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Sandcastles

Property: Mitchell's Sandcastles
Address: 3951 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5298
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing