We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitchell's Sandcastles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitchell's Sandcastles
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just spent two weeks at Mitchell's. This was our first time here and were were very satisfied by everything. Our cottage was on the beach with a deck where we could relax and watch the beach and the beautiful sunsets. We really enjoyed eating lunch on the deck watching and listening to the waves in the gulf. We also had a woodpecker who visited to entertain us. This is not a fancy place, but everything has been updated and was well maintained. The cottage was very clean and they furnished everything, except the food, for us to prepare and eat breakfast and lunch. There are plenty of resturants so we enjoyed a different place almost every evening, after watching the sunset with other guests. We can not wait to go back and have booked it for next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJW804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    67
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
127
159
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just left on Tuesday afternoon after my 2nd time at Mitchell's and I can't wait to go back! The cottages are updated and clean, the property is beautifully maintained and the location cannot be beat. Joel and Orianna do such a nice job making all of the guests feel comfortable and relaxed. I really don't have anything negative to share!!

Room Tip: all good..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmr319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We wanted a quiet week on the beach to relax, and this was what we enjoyed. We stayed in #8 which was great for a couple. It was clean, had all the basics for self catering, open plan, nicely decorated & furnished. We had good pre and onsite service from Joel and having access to bicycles helped us to see more of the island, do local shopping etc. The pool we used was lovely and warm. There is a laundry and also access to the internet, both of which we found useful. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Mitchell's Sandcastles, and loved Sanibel Island!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The greatest asset is its location. It is right on what several passers by said is "my favorite beach in Sanibel." Great shelling, very quiet. Joel acts as your host and does that well. Bikes, kayaks, beach chairs, beach unbrellas are all included. Bring your own beach towels. Our room, Pelican, was cosy, clean and had a small kitchen. As the title says, it is not fancy, but the beach and the atmosphere are hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I hesitated to write this review because I selfishly wanted to keep Mitchell's Sand Castles to myself (and, okay, the hundreds of other TripAdvisor members who have stayed at and love this place). But as the owner of a small business myself, I know how important good reviews are. Mitchell's is a gem, a charming collection of cottages right on the beach, perfect access for early morning shelling. My husband and I stayed in Cottage 6, which was very comfortable and nicely furnished with a well-equipped kitchen (though we didn't use it). We only stayed for two nights, but wished we had stayed longer. Everyone we encountered was lovely, and it was great to be able to pick out a bike and go exploring. We will definitely be back. (Btw, the only reason I didn't give Mitchell's a 5.0 rating was that the mattress wasn't great, too soft, and the curtains let in tons of light, which, since there were outdoor lights all around us, didn't make for great sleeping.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank JustJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our first time at this location and on Sanibel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We chose this property, in part, because we were able to bring our dog along with us. Stayed in the Sea Spray which is Gulf-front and a very few steps to the beach.

Cottage is very well-equipped; large refrigerator, double sink, dishwasher, smooth-top electric range. A/C worked great. Furnishings in very good repair and immaculate housekeeping quite evident when we entered. Good water pressure and an excellent shower head (one of my big "things" no matter what level I stay at).

The owner, Joel, is very helpful and offered good advice regarding local places to shop, etc.

Did not use the pools which appeared to be very clean and in excellent condition. Bicycles and other recreational items available on-site. Enjoyed having our own barbeque grill and liked watching the sunsets from the fully-screened front porch.

Overall very highly recommend this establishment and we felt it was good value for our money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Intrepid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

If Tripadvisor would allow it, we would give a 4.5 stars. Our entire family loved the location, so close to the beach, major shell-combing opportunities everywhere, no other close-by hotels, in a quiet residential area. The amenities are nice (two 25 yardish pools, beach chairs, umbrellas, bikes - all included) and adequate. We did not use, but they have a couple/few laundry facilities, kayaks included, a small fitness center. This is a do-it-yourself type of place, with staff present and available, but not generally visible - it was a nice balance for us on Sanibel. The unit we rented was clean, with brand new towels / kleenex / etc in the unit at the start. The only downer was the latent perfumey smell inside the unit when we first got there, which did not seem to dissipate even with windows open. There was a beautiful pileated woodpecker in the evergreen closest to the beach. Note that it is clear on the website that these are low rise cabin-like units (with metal roofs), and some of them are connected so you hear fellow renters a bit more than the typical. The outdoor screen rooms are fantastic. One of the pools is available late night. Two air conditioner units and two fans give you multiple cooling options. Lots and lots of repeat renters should help you understand this is a nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank munchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
5.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's Sandcastles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Sandcastles

Property: Mitchell's Sandcastles
Address: 3951 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5298
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing