We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Time Beach Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2011

If you want to travel back to the 50's, this is the place for you.

The beachfront cottages, which are spotlessly cleaned, each have enclosed patios to enjoy the beach air.

Cottages are located right behind the dunes with less than a 75 yard walk to the beach.

The cottages are located in a very quiet secluded section of Sanibel and you often have the beach all to yourself.

The staff is excellent, very attentive and helpful to all needs in the upkeep of cottage.

There are no in-room telephones (another enjoyable throwback to the 50's) yet there is wifi access.

My wife and I have been coming to Sanibel for over five years, always looking for reasonably priced rooms to stay for the month of January.

Tropical Winds is definately at the top of the fair priced motels on what is mostly a very expensive Island to visit and stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pbutwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 260 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2011

We have stayed at Tropical Winds two times now. Once in the Beachfront Units and once in a Cottage. We were very pleased with everything both times. Cottages and units are in an area of the island that is less busy than average, therefore quiet and the beach is more private than other areas. The managers Gregg and Kathy are on site and were very pleasant to talk to, answered our questions about the island, and attended to our needs very efficiently. Cottages were very clean. This is a place I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellsOrUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Nothing fancy here. Just a basic beach duplex. It's on the far end of the island, towards Captiva, so it's quieter, though not as near all the restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgoldberg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Staying here is a wonderful experience. All of the comforts of home are in your cottage. The managers are friendly, competent, and maintain the cottages so that you are comfortable and we are never quite ready to leave. We look forward to staying here on our return visits...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

January 2011 was our fourth stay at Tropical Winds. Obviously we like it very much. As we compared the location, the friendly staff in charge, the great beach and the abundance of shells, there really was no comparison to be had--and the price was right. The cottages are appointed well and are always very clean. Tropical Sands is THE place to stay. We are sure we will return next January, God willing.

Paul & Sandy
pmeredith@cfl.rr.com

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mud123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I f you are looking for a quiet place to get away from the crowds, this is it! The beach is beautiful and secluded. The owners of the property are on site to be helpful and friendly. Nothing fancy, but a bit of Florida Americana can be found at the Tropical Winds. No need to bring beach chairs or umbrella, they are graciously provided. I have never stayed in a cleaner place. It felt like home from the moment I arrived. I highly recommend this motel for people who enjoy the simple pleasures of life.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bishopcatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Sanibel Island is a great place to view wildlife, especially birds, at the Ding Darling National Wild Life Refuge. It is also known for shell collecting. This motel is perfectly located for those activities. To access private beaches on Sanibel you need a neighborhood parking permit. Private beaches usually have better shell collecting.

The cottages were built in the late 40's to early 50's and provide a short walk ( make sure you cover the soles of your feet due to sand spurs) to the beach. We stayed in Unit 5, a one bedroom efficiency. The kitchen, bathroom and bedroom are very basic. The shower in the bathroom is exceptionally small. The kitchen is sparsely furnished and has very basic appliances i.e. two burner hot plate, small personal refrigerator, 4 cup coffee maker, etc. No daily maid service is provided. If you want clean linens you must place the used ones in a bin outside your door by 10 AM. The cottages have free Wi-Fi.

Most of the restaurants on Sanibel are either mediocre or very expensive. If you have a kitchen, even basic, you can make your own meals. Jerry's supermarket has a good deli and decent selection of food. Stop on the way in.

This is our third visit to Sanibel/Captiva. I would recommend this hotel to others based on the location and for the activities mentioned above.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
328 reviews
5.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 19 in Sanibel Island
220 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,552 reviews
2.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages

Address: 4819 Tradewinds & Jamaica Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2605
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $232 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience Sanibel with the charm of Old Style Florida! Located on the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, on the west end of the island, Tropical Winds is tucked away in a very secluded, private setting within a small residential neighborhood. Enjoy one of our beachfront or nearby cottages in our own tropical paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Tropical Winds Motel And Cottages
Tropical Winds Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing