We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Lee, New Hampshire
1 review
“The Best!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We love Tropical Winds. We were there over April vacation for four days with our daughter. It was great! Three of the four days we were the only ones on the beach. We stayed in the cottage rental and it was exactly like a very clean cottage style vacation. Short walk to the beach. Quiet and relaxing. If you want to go to a place where it is quiet, this is it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    62
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
74
113
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a great time, as usual, at the beach and in our lovely unit at Tropical Winds. The management is helpful, as always, and the other tenants in the rental units are always so kind and friendly. We are planning to come back next year and don't plan on even trying to find another place to stay on Sanibel. Thanks for making our trip happy and easy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinfieldWormie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Ellen and Issac are terrific hosts, accomodating, always helpful yet never intruding. This location and setting are second to none in Sanibel or Captiva including very pricey resorts, This great private beach site was built when developers could still chose the prime lots. The units are screened, charming and many new updates are obvious and ongoing. Loved how it was on the west end of Sanibel away from the traffic yet near the bike paths, wildlife reserve and yet all the glitz and beauty you could want near the Captiva IS area. Shells, blue water, and seclusion and a place to park right at the beach cottage. Just walk down the sandy dune path onsite to the surf.
Almost reluctant to share this great find as we will be back!!
My adult daughter and I were there and both loved it, many, guests have been returning for years we found out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyAnn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and I usually stay at the Signal Inn in Sanibel, but it was unavailable for this trip. Tropical Winds was cheaper and provided very pleasant accomodations, right on the beach -- and a relatively unpopulated part of the beach, with an easy beach walk to Bowman's Beach. The small apartment was clean and pleasant. It had a very enjoyable porch. Air conditioning was just right, as were the ceiling fans in the bedroom and porch. The resort is very pet-friendly. There were chairs for the beach and a great place to wash up after the beach, right outside the cottages. This was a terrific find, and we shall certainly return. Swimming pool is small but very well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Tropical Winds was a perfect place for our family. I agree with previous reviews that the place is very basic and a tad run down around the edges. But for us the charm and atmosphere of the place far outweighed these minor concerns. The proprietors are genuine and helpful, but keep a low profile around the place unless you need them. We stayed in a one-bedroom beach cottage. Our unit was clean and comfortable, and met our expectations based on the resort website. The beach units are close together, especially units #8 and #9 which share a porch enclosure. Maybe we just got lucky, but everyone around seemed too peaceful and relaxed to make much noise. The area was perfectly quiet the whole time. (I'm not sure if our neighbors would say the same about our kids, who were pretty thrilled with the whole scene). And as many others have said before - the beach is beautiful and quiet and pretty much right outside your door. Absolute tranquility. We felt so lucky to be removed from the crowded part of the island - we had heard that Sanibel can get very crowded but were still surprised by the degree of traffic congestion in the village. Even biking in that area was challenging at times. Tropical Winds is definitely the place to be if you want to avoid those crowds. With a kitchen in your cottage and Doc Ford's(with it's excellent outdoor patio) just down the road there's really no reason to venture into the gridlock ! The beautiful little swimming pool by the manager's house was also a big hit for us. I think it's the cleanest and cutest resort pool I have ever seen. I just couldn't resist jumping in with the kids. This is a great place !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at the Tropical Winds for 3 nights last week while visiting family that live in the area. While the amenities met expectations, the beautiful scenery and access to the beach very much exceeded them. We travelled with our toddler son, and 2 small dogs (that require a special diet) so the cottage/efficiency unit was essential in providing them with their needs. The kitchen had pretty much everything that we needed, and the sleeping accomodations were very good. The screened in porch did a good job of sheltering us from the bugs at night. Could it use some updating? Probably. But if you are going to pick away at the little things and critique it against 5 star resorts, this place is not for you. Bottom line: it was clean and comfortable. In terms of easy access to the beach and use of beach necessities...it doesn't get better. In terms of the friendliness and receptiveness of the staff...wonderful. Accomodating to pets...fantastic. And the solitude away from the hustle and bustle of the area....2nd to none. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcleach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Be warned. The rooms are old, amenities absent, neighbors in earshot and almost impossible to avoid. Not the kind of place this old introvert usually likes. I encourage you all to go elsewhere. Because I loved this place and can't wait to return. As other reviewers have said, not an elegant place, but the beach is beautiful, uncrowded, clean, quiet. I felt completely safe and relaxed. Never turned on the TV for five days, leaving only for dinners out and a bike ride. What a find! Our neighbors wereusually long time guests who'd come for years and could offer reviews on various rooms. The prize, #10, books up a year or more in advance. For example, we visited mid February 2012. The prized 10 is already booked late Dec 2012 thru mid March 2013. On the other hand, #5 (I suspect - from the unhappy manager's unsolicited comments - the room of the last unhappy reviewers) is a nice size for a cruise cabin. That's why it rents for less.

Room Tip: See above. We were in #7 and would be more than happy to return. # 8 & 9 share a screened porc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
5.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages

Property: Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Address: 4819 Tradewinds & Jamaica Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2605
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience Sanibel with the charm of Old Style Florida! Located on the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, on the west end of the island, Tropical Winds is tucked away in a very secluded, private setting within a small residential neighborhood. Enjoy one of our beachfront or nearby cottages in our own tropical paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Motel And Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Tropical Winds Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing