We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOD BLESS THE ANCHOR INN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOD BLESS THE ANCHOR INN”
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We have just come back from Sanibel and i had to find a site to review our stay in The Anchor Inn. The staff were so helpful courteous and friendly, they gave us ideas where to eat and visit aswell as looking after our needs they also gave us peace and quiet (no knocking on doors screaming ROOM SERVICE)
The accomodation was spotlessly clean, fresh towels whenever required, the shower was powerful and clean. The pool was great to go and relax around with a book etc and the patio was ideal for sitting around and recalling the days exploits
If you are thinking of going to Sanibel then i would highly reccomend booking in here, the location is ideal for getting to the beach is very near places to eat (The Jacaranda,Dolce Vita are 20second walks) and even though it is on the main road it is extremely quiet.
The only problem we had was that we had to leave
thank you so much for a lovely time


James,Julie & Ann
London,England

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank devers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    74
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
58
95
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

First of all, I have to point out that Anchor Inn is one of the few pet friendly hotels/motels in the island. I love spontenaity and planning last minute trips and trying to find a place were dogs are permitted is always a hustle. To my surprise most of the island is dog friendly, this including the beach and some restaurants. Anchor Inn design is ...let's say "motelish", however must of the accomodations are "efficiency rooms" with a full kitchen and small seating area. The place is small, right off the main street- Periwinkle way- and within walking distance to many good restaurants including the famous Lazy Flamingo. One of the downlows to the place is the location of the pool- way to close to the main street and with little privacy. Also, parking lot is small and may be packed if you arrive late in the night. Staff is not intrusive at all and most of the times you are going to have the place for yourself and room cleaning is going to be rendered only when requested, otherwise cleaning personnel is not going to enter your room- which I actually liked. The bathroom was sparkling clean- which is an a-most for me.

  • Liked — pet friendly
  • Disliked — pool location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed at Anchor Inn an A line house for 5 days. I was there with my husband, 3 kids and a dog. The place was great. Plenty of space. Kids loved sleeping in the loft. It was very clean. Had some ant issues on the kitchen counter but other then that it was great. We will definitely go back there again. Nice clean towels every day. Place is really clean.

  • Liked — It is very clean
  • Disliked — had some ants in the kitchen but we sprayed and got rid of them
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We were planning a family get-together long-distance. This place looked like the best deal for who we had coming. The owners were very willing to work with us, especially one family member who had a couple of different special needs. We ended up renting two of their cottages, and really enjoyed them. They were spacious, clean, had what we needed (refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, dishes, pots, pans, etc), and were very pleasant.

The caveat is this: we had six people in one cottage and five in the other. Because two of the people in the 6-person cottage were children who went to bed earlier than the rest of us, we put them into the back room, which was separate from the rest, so quiet and dark. However, that meant that two adults had to sleep on the sofa-bed in the front room. Not a good idea on many counts. They ended up sleeping sideways in the bed because the bars were pretty bad. So if you are going to use a cottage for more than 4 people, keep this in mind--the sofa bed would be okay for kids, but not good for adults.

The other cottage had five people including a baby. The owners had a pak-n-play for the baby to sleep in, which was very helpful.

The owners are not at all intrusive and are very helpful. There are laundry facilities available. The pool was very clean and appeared to be well-kept (though it was cold enough that the kids only used it one day). About a 15 minute walk to the nearest beach and screen tables to use for washing your shells. Also (which is one of the biggest reasons we went with them), they don't have minimum stay requirements (since we were coming from out of the country and didn't have a "standard" vacation stay, it was difficult to find a place on Sanibel that would accomodate our needs).

Overall, we were very pleased. The only negative was the sofa bed. We would definitely recommend them to others.

  • Liked — spacious and clean
  • Disliked — sofa bed
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2twoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Firstly can i say that the Anchor Inn isnt a 5* resort, it is what the Americans call a "mom and pop" type place. It is clean , tidy and the owners are very friendly and helpfull.We rented a efficiency which was great, well equiped and spacious ad for $79 per night real value for money.The pool area is well maintained and very clean, every thing looked fairly new.The only down side is the road noise which starts fairly early in the morning,being early risers anyway it didnt bother us but may bother some. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. They did have some detached cottages that looked fantastic,may opt for one of those next time.

  • Liked — very clean and well maintained.friendly owners
  • Disliked — closeness to road
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puma1.716v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We had a reservation at another motel that was shabby, and we were lucky to find that the Anchor Inn had a vacancy at the last minuet. The front desk is only open until 9 PM, and that is the time we got there to check in. The lady behind the desk was very nice, and let us check out the room before taking a deposit. The room was a good size with two Queen beds, and it was very clean. We stayed for 4 nights and every day we saw people cleaning and painting. The pool was great, it looked new. We used the laundry it is just a regular washer and dryer on the back of the building, and you pay the front desk $4 a load, that includes washing and drying. They also gave us directions to their private beach, that was awesome, we were one of only a few people on that section of beach, we found a lot of good sea shells, we saw dolphins swimming along the beach, and the sun sets were amazing. This is an older Mom and Pop type place, but it is well maintained and the people are friendly.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — It was on the main road
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabana_Bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmetto florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2007

My sister & I have just returned from a 3 day trip there, we are very tired because there is so much to do & see in that short period of time. We stayed at The Anchor Inn & Cottages on Periwinkle. Diane the manager is very nice & will be happy to give you lots of info.The place is very clean & neat, reasonable prices, nice pool too. We ate at the Lazy Flamingo once, they give you lots of food, we had to have doggie bags. The Island Cow is great too, we had dinner & breakfast there, service is good, food is great. Now just a few tips from us, if you park at the beaches where you pay, you can pay for as long as you want and use the ticket at any pay beach there. Also if you stay at the Anchor Inn, they have a beach you can park for free with a small walk, just ask Diane. We plan to return soon, got lots of shells on the beaches, the best we did was at at the lighthouse end & bowmans beach. For souveniers, go to Winds, they have a big selection & good prices. She sells sea shells also has some good prices on shells. have fun, we sure did. pcalpalmetto@hotmail.com

Helpful?
1 Thank girlnpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,706 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,284 reviews
3.2 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn & Cottages

Property: Anchor Inn & Cottages
Address: 1245 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-4720
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Sanibel Island, Anchor Inn offers affordable accommodations in a lush tropical setting. Private A-frame cottages, standard hotel rooms and fully equipped 1 and 2 room efficiencies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchor Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Anchor Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing