We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No animals to see” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clinic for the Rehabilitation of Wildlife (CROW)

Clinic for the Rehabilitation of Wildlife (CROW)
Certificate of Excellence
Round Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No animals to see”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The crow facility is located a bit out of the way, and to me there was nothing exceptional to justify the trip. From what we had read in the vacation guide in our hotel, crow allowed visitors to see and interact with injured animals that the facility was rehabilitating. However, when we arrived they informed us that visitors could no longer interact with the animals, which was dissapointing. Also, be prepared for a healthy dose of hippy nonesense when you go (they provide accupuncture to injured animals, 'man is the greatest threat of all', etc). I thought the displays could have been more child-friendly and interactive. I recommend cutting them a check to support their important work on Sanibel, but save yourself a trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ddjetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    73
    24
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Several years ago my wife and I were introduced to CROW while on vacation. At that time we got to see some live animals. The "new and improved" Crow Center features none of these. To me it was a pretty sterile place with an overlong video showing what they do and some static exhibits that were not impressive. The people we talked to there said the current vets don't want any contact between their animals and the public. This is disappointing. My wife and I have visited other Florida wildlife rehab locations where they did allow visitors to see convalescing wildlife, we would have much preferred that. I think it would give potential contributors a better
perspective of the scope the center's involvement and effectiveness.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Miike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good educational setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The CROW visitors center is wonderful and a great place to learn about the local animals and how we can care for them. Very nice setting to educate children, love it and will be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very special group of people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The visitors center does not have healing animals because it is not good for the animal and the licenses don't allow it. They do have CCTV so that you can watch the patients. The education center shows you how destructive humans can be when we carlessly toss away out fishing line and other trash. Well worth a couple hours of your time to learn about a very caring woman's development of what has become a premier rehabilitation facility.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth going to this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I loved this rescue reserve. We learned many things about the wildlife on Sanibel, and actually saw two Gopher Tortoises afterwards. You cannot see the rescued wild life because it really stresses them out (the animals rescued). I loved the films and the presentations they had, also they have a great gift shop!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cmfairygodmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clinic for the Rehabilitation of Wildlife (CROW) also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Clinic for the Rehabilitation of Wildlife (CROW)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing