We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blind Pass Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Belle Fourche
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We rented a condo for a week and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly! We had four teenage boys with us and they had a blast. Groceries shopping on the island was easy, the condo well-equipped for cooking our meals, and the bbq grill made it just perfect. It was an easy walk to the beach and the pool was used a lot by our boys in the evening. If you are looking for a comfortable, affordable place to have a family trip or even a couple's getaway, you can't go wrong staying here. The owners are easy to work with and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    36
    8
    9
    1
See reviews for
96
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in E108 in July. We loved this condo. Great location and easy access to beach. The condo comes equipped with everything you would need-towels, beach toys, umbrella, beach chairs etc. Also kitchen is very nice with plenty of dishes or anything you might need. The condo was also clean. The living room furniture was a little worn out but other than that all the furniture was in great shape. It is about a 4-5 minute walk to the beach over a bridge/canal that had manatees and alligator in it. The beach is great, but watch out for the no-see-ums bugs. We were plagued with them once we came home-they show up a few days after you leave. I would rent this same condo again.

Room Tip: Bldg G is closest to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was an excellent stay for wife and I. Would be great for kids too. May is very good time to go, not crowed, no noise, 4 or 5 people in pool, lower rates. Water was plenty warm to swim (pool or gulf). Very well stocked. Beach cart, chairs, umbrella, flippers, shelling bags, all kitchen stuff. Only thing I found lacking was a salt and pepper shaker. This place is ideal location, half way from each end of Sanibel-Captiva. Takes 10 minutes to go to either end. Nice walk in shower in 2nd BR. All well updated. Free Kayaks and Canoes... well worth it even if you've never tried it! Shop at Jerry's!

Room Tip: G201, nearest walk to beach (10 minutes tops).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our family stayed in Unit G104 for one week at the beginning of May 2013. We picked Blind Pass because of the seclusion it offered. This unit offered wonderful amenities including a pack n play, high chair, games, puzzles and movies. Incredibly comfortable unit. The atmosphere of the condominium grounds was peaceful and tidy as many other reviews state. We enjoyed seeing all the wildlife along the way to the beach. Kids got to see the large osprey nest, egrets, herons, pelicans, fish, and an alligator! We loved it. .

Room Tip: This unit is closest to the beach access path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rda3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

You won't have to worry when you rent Syl and Joe's at Blind Pass. First of all, Sanibel is beautiful and slow paced. There's no place on the island you can go faster than 35. Lots of shells, lots of peace, and lots of nature-a good place to rest up with a Caribbean feel-like the Keys . This part of the island is the natural side and the prettiest but don't forget to stop by Lighthouse Beach on the other side of the island just to see a dramatic view across the water of Fort Myers-but stay here. Syl and Joe's Place is perfect to spend your week in. Absolutely all you'll need to enjoy your week: a well stocked kitchen, comfortable beds, beautiful living area, beach chairs, games, good DVD's for those sunny afternoons you may want to rest up from the morning and getting ready for a long walk along the beach or watching dramatic sunsets over the Gulf of Mexico-you'll be happy. The rooms are painted in a soft green or orange to go along with the feel of the lush vegetation-coconut and orchid trees just outside your windows. You can play tennis at Blind Pass on very well kept tennis courts (take your racket,but you can borrow them there if you forget) or borrow kayaks to take a paddle down an easy river toward Captiva for a great time in the mornings when it's cool. You'll see birds on islands or swimming almost up to your boat along with large jumping fish of some type, an occasional sea manatee that we never saw, and even a small alligator that's afraid of people,-so don't be afraid to go kayaking-it's safe. Don't forget to rent bicycles and have all of them delivered right to the bicycle racks at Blind Pass for a small fee-they'll pick them up too so you don't have to worry about getting them back when you have to go home. It's fun to ride especially to Captiva on the miles of bicycle paths they have on Sanibel. It would be a good place for a family or couples to enjoy a nice week of tropical beauty without leaving the US. This would be a great option for a memorable vacation and you will not be disappointed in any way.

Room Tip: Syl and Joe's was perfect. Second floor and very quiet. The whole complex was quiet all the ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BET2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed a week in Unit D201 and overall our family of four is very satisfied with our 2 bed/ 2 bath accomodations. The resort itself, as others have noted, is very clean, peaceful, well-maintained and beautifully situated near a gorgeous beach. Our last stay was at Sanibel Siesta, on the eastern part of the island and as far as traffic and other logistics of getting around go, we preferred this location. Not dealing with the congestion on Periwinkle Way and being so close to our favorite shelling beach at Blind Pass were pluses. The walk to the beach is more pleasant here as well, with fabulous bird watching in the estuary that is on the way. Hoping to see a gator, but that never happened. :) The only unfavorable comparison was the condo itself, which badly needed updating. It was clean and comfortable but the curtains needed repairing, bedroom coverlets are torn and the pillows were literally flat as pancakes. Likewise the pots, pans and dishes were sufficient but old and well worn. No "extra" thoughtful touches either, like a pizza cutter, scissors, writing utensils, a working radio or sound system,or enough paper towels and t.p. to last a full week. Small things, granted, but things we enjoyed in our last place and seem a little chintzy when they're missing. We don't require uber-luxury to give a place the thumbs-up, but bathroom fixtures from this century would be nice. We would definitely choose Blind Pass Condominiums again, but a different unit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melsbells88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in a unit at Blind Pass Condominiums with another couple in late February 2013 -- our second time here. The gorgeous beach (about 5 minutes walk, including a bridge over a beautiful estuary), heated pool, well-maintained tennis courts, and gas grills are a big part of the attraction, as are the friendly staff and fellow guests. It's also great because you are relatively far from the more congested part of Sanibel. While some of the units are somewhat dated in decor, they are quite spacious and perfectly comfortable and include all the amenities one would need for a week or two at the beach -- screened porch, dishwasher and washer/dryer. The Ding Darling Wildlife Sanctuary is less than a 5-minute drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
6.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,224 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
#12 of 42 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blind Pass Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blind Pass Condominiums

Property: Blind Pass Condominiums
Address: 5117 Sea Bell Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2519
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blind Pass Condominiums is the hidden jewel in Sanibel's crown. On the quiet west end, secluded, tropical and a short walk to the best shelling beach on the Island, Blind Pass units offer great value. Their spacious room sizes and well designed layouts make vacationing comfortable and convenient. The extra large pool and on-site management also enhance a vacationer's stay. Free tennis offered at all times. Free kayaking and canoeing offered, conditions permitting. We are sure you will find a unit at Blind Pass that you will love and will meet your needs. And, if you have any questions about a unit in our rental program, our rental office will help you make a decision in what best suits your search. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blind Pass Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing