We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blind Pass Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our second home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband's grandparents started going to Blind Pass condos well over 25 years ago. They went every year and then we started going every year. The condos are like a second home for us. Spacious, clean and the grounds are immaculate. We have our favorite 3 bedroom near the pool but we, and our large group of friends, have stayed in numerous units over the years and have never been disappointed. The secluded beach and relaxed atmosphere make it the perfect getaway vacation. Also, the prices are fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjdotson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samba, Owner at Blind Pass Condominiums, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
So happy to read we have become a tradition in your family! Hope you "pass us on" for many generations to come...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    36
    8
    9
    1
See reviews for
96
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We vacation every year with friends who live on the East Coast of Florida. A few years ago when we couldn't get in the place we had stayed twice before, I found Blind Pass Condos in an internet search. One of the best things about Blind Pass is the variety of apartment types. We needed a 3 bedroom since we had 2 couples and a teenager. We chose a unit that had 2 master suites both with king beds and a third bedroom with 2 beds. It was wonderful!! The kitchens are very nicely appointed with appliances, large refridgerator, stove/oven, dishwasher and washer & dryer. The value for what you get in accomodations & amenities is outstanding, the price is more than reasonable. There are gas grills (6) for use as well. We won't every stay anywhere else when we are in Sanibel, in fact I would rearrange our vacation dates in order to get the apartment we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaMc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samba, Owner at Blind Pass Condominiums, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. As you know every condo in the complex is unique in decor and we offer 3 different types of units to choose from. Our "diversity" is one of the things that sets us apart among the condo complexes on Sanibel and we are so pleased and proud that you noticed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Second time in this wonderful place. Beach brilliant and great to be so close and yet have real comfort to relax in. The wildlife was fantastic, lots of manatees including a baby and family in the creek near the condo, very special indeed. Dolphins nearly everyday, ospreys and pelicans abound. Other bird and fish life great. The canoes are worth using and we saw birds close up including a roseate spoonbill on a sandbank.
The pool is nice and relaxing and the staff are great and helpful.
Best food on the island is The Sunset Grill, 45minutes walk up the beach or a short drive. Great breakfasts, try the burritto. Dinner is superb, excellent attentive service and the very best food from top class ingredients. Much better than the overrated Mad Hatter over the road. My swordfish was the best fish I have ever had, unbelievable.
Gramma Dot's is also very good, grouper sandwich in fantastic.
Great shopping off island at Miromar and some good stuff at Tanger.
This place has everything. Dave and Wendy, York, England

Room Tip: The rooms linked to the condo board, booked through the site office, seem to be of a very good stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This condo is located relatively close to the beach, compared to other units in the complex. (F102). This is good if you have young children/older guests and getting to and from the beach easily is important. Having a water filter in the kitchen was great!! We did not need to buy bottled water for this reason. The water in Sanibel has a funny smell to it so having this was key. Additionally, the kitchen has a garbage disposal which came in handy given that we cooked every night. We loved the blue recliner chairs in the room, very comfortable! Beds were comfortable apart from the pillows in the one room. Washer dryer were great.

Upon arrival we were ready to go to the beach however our beach umbrella was totally broken and very flimsy. Given that it was a holiday weekend, the front desk was closed. We made do for 2 days, after which I called the owner, and he told me to purchase one and I'd be reimbursed. After that all was good. We definitely needed the umbrella being that we were traveling with a baby. Pretty bad that the previous renters didn't alert the owner.

We cooked every night in the condo. If you are planning on cooking, note that there are plenty of pots and pans to use. I'd say that the knives/can opener were very flimsy but I would understand that you don't want to use top quality appliances in a rental unit given that people could break things easily. We borrowed a neighbors can opener since ours was broken.

I was told there would be kids toys in the unit however we didn't find any, but not a problem, we just bought some.

Overall we enjoyed our stay in this condo. It was clean and comfortable, no major complaints.

Sanibel in general : We liked Sanibel. Honestly however, I was expecting the beach to be better. If you love sea shells this is the place for you. I have found other Florida beaches to be nicer, and of course these do not compare to the Caribbean. We chose to go to Florida because we have a little baby and it was important that we had a kitchen. In that respect, this place was perfect. We did go out to eat one night while the grandparents babysat for us. The food we ate at one restaurant was good, but expensive (25-40 dollars per person). Just note this if you plan on eating out every night, it can get costly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Peanut128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Blind Pass Condominiums, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review. We are happy to read that your experience overall was a good one.

The quality of the beach is somewhat dependent on the weather, and your stay followed a storm so that might be a reason it was not as you would have expected.

All rental guests should be aware that every unit in Blind Pass Condominium is different, and some amenities that are found in one, may not exist in another. In addition, though a unit may have a certain amenity for one stay, (for example beach toys), there is no way for the owner or the management to know for certain that they will be there for the next visit. Beach toys are often left at the beach or pool and then not in the unit when the guests arrive.

But we are pleased that all worked out and you enjoyed your holiday.

Once again, we value your time in reviewing and your decision to stay at Blind Pass Condominium. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

This review is not based on the pool, grounds and beach but the quality of our condo, which I was disappointed in. The complex is immaculately maintained with a very nice pool that we took advantage of almost daily. Beach access from our condo was about a 5-7 min walk, depending on how much we were carrying. :) While we were there, shelling was excellent. My daughter found a foot long horse conch and was the darling of the beach with quite the crowd. We found so many shells, I mailed back two priority mail boxes absolutely stuffed with shells. It is also nice being close to Blind Pass Beach. We drove there a few times and enjoyed the beach.

The complex also has available Weber grills and my husband had a great time (and many admirers) grilling a variety of foods. Having such a nice quality grill available helped save on our food bill during our two week visit.

We were really disappointed in our condo. It was nice having all of the beach items for use and a full kitchen; however, all of the maintenance issues were just unacceptable. We are a family of five so when we travel we rent villas and condos and this is the first time I have ever had issues like these before. It would seem that the condos would have to be up to some level of adequacy. Asking for additiional pictures don't help identify maintenance issues.

Also, be aware that there is ONE parking space assigned per condo. My husband flew in a few days after me and was going to rent a car but couldn't. My parents were also on the island at the same time but couldn't come visit because there was no place for them to park. We had to go pick them up so they could come over for dinner.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank PlantMomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Blind Pass Condominiums, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to write this review and all the lovely things you say about the complex, but are very unhappy to read that the unit you stayed in did not meet your needs. You do not detail what the problems were with the unit you chose, but it would be helpful for us to have that information, if you have not already left it with one of our staff members or filled out a survey on your departure. If you have not provided us with that information---verbally or in writing---- as yet, we strongly encourage you to call us or send an email with the particulars of your stay and unit.


Each unit in Blind Pass Condominium is privately owned. The update, supply and maintenance of each condo is, to a large degree, up to each individual owner. That said, if the unit is in our rental program, there are standards that must be met. All units in our rental program are inspected at least once a year and there is an internal grading system on our findings. While we can not share that system with our rental guests, we are happy to direct them to the units that will best meet their needs and objectives when they call us. Many owners in our program do market their own condos but do the rentals through the office. Others do their own marketing and renting outside of the program.

If a unit is rented directly through the owner and the owner is not in the rental program, we do not have a measurement of how well the unit is kept and have no ability to inspect and grade.


Regarding the information you were provided about one parking space, we must conclude that that information was given to you by the owner. The office staff would not have offered this information, as it is not the case. There is one designated parking space per condo (for you and you alone), but there are many guest spaces scattered throughout the complex. At the time of year you visited, May, there should have been ample parking in the guest spaces. Again, we are sorry for this obvious miscommunication which resulted in some inconveniences for you and your family. This did not have to be the case.


Please do contact us to clarify just what condo you rented and what your issues were. If it is in our rental program, we may have ways to address the issues. Again, if it is not in our rental program, we can only assure you the best maintenance in those areas (grounds, pool, etc.) that we do have control over.

We hope to hear from you. Thank you once again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We just got back from 7 days on Sanibel Island, staying at Blind Pass in unit C102. Our unit was IMMACULATE, very well maintained and recently updated. We definitely felt like we were home in this condo, but had the luxuries of the island right outside our door.

We traveled with two teenagers and found everything to be perfect. It is quite a hike to the ocean day after day, but we really enjoyed looking around to see new things. We went into Ft. Myers and even drove to Miami and were amazed at how "different" things are on the island (different = better). The birds, alligators (we saw one on a morning jog!), SHELLS - you name it, everything you want or need is right there. We loved the privacy of the beach off our condo (again, after the walk). You could see families at the public beach up the way (Bowman's Beach) but we always had privacy down further where we were. We also spent time at the pool, which was well maintained (clean)!

We didn't notice any problems with noise, but our unit was away from the main road. We would definitely go back - we had the best time and I can't think of any negative experiences we had.

Room Tip: I would definitely look through each individual condo. We chose C102 because it was updated and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milesbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

It was so nice to come visit again after 15 years. Not much has changed since I was here last, the property was clean, trees and foliage were tidy, staff was very friendly!! The pool was a great hit with the kids, it too was clean and refreshing. We stayed in unit E103, which is a 3 bedroom 2 bath, and a nice little porch to sit on to enjoy some morning coffee. Very spacious for 6 people and clean. Other people staying here were quiet (not rowdy) and very friendly. The walkway to the beach is an enjoyable one, with a beautiful bridge to cross the lagoon over where you might see some manatees, egrets, blue heron, and even a gator. Don't worry, he's a small guy. ;) Blind Pass's private Bowman's Beach entry is a big plus, not any where near as many people as there is at the public access of Bowman's Beach. We will definitely be coming back to BPC, this place is just as beautiful as I remember it when I stayed here years ago.

Room Tip: E103 is a great unit for big groups, two of the rooms have two decent sized beds, so 6 to 8 people i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshandkellyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
6.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,226 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
#12 of 42 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blind Pass Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blind Pass Condominiums

Property: Blind Pass Condominiums
Address: 5117 Sea Bell Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2519
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blind Pass Condominiums is the hidden jewel in Sanibel's crown. On the quiet west end, secluded, tropical and a short walk to the best shelling beach on the Island, Blind Pass units offer great value. Their spacious room sizes and well designed layouts make vacationing comfortable and convenient. The extra large pool and on-site management also enhance a vacationer's stay. Free tennis offered at all times. Free kayaking and canoeing offered, conditions permitting. We are sure you will find a unit at Blind Pass that you will love and will meet your needs. And, if you have any questions about a unit in our rental program, our rental office will help you make a decision in what best suits your search. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blind Pass Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing