We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip down Memory Lane”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blind Pass Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Kearney, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Trip down Memory Lane”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

It was so nice to come visit again after 15 years. Not much has changed since I was here last, the property was clean, trees and foliage were tidy, staff was very friendly!! The pool was a great hit with the kids, it too was clean and refreshing. We stayed in unit E103, which is a 3 bedroom 2 bath, and a nice little porch to sit on to enjoy some morning coffee. Very spacious for 6 people and clean. Other people staying here were quiet (not rowdy) and very friendly. The walkway to the beach is an enjoyable one, with a beautiful bridge to cross the lagoon over where you might see some manatees, egrets, blue heron, and even a gator. Don't worry, he's a small guy. ;) Blind Pass's private Bowman's Beach entry is a big plus, not any where near as many people as there is at the public access of Bowman's Beach. We will definitely be coming back to BPC, this place is just as beautiful as I remember it when I stayed here years ago.

Room Tip: E103 is a great unit for big groups, two of the rooms have two decent sized beds, so 6 to 8 people i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshandkellyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    36
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
98
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My friend Bonnie and I spent the week of May 26-Jine 2, 2012 at Syl and Joel's E201
2was bd 2bth condo unit. We spent a similar wk there 2 yrs ago and loved it.
It is large, comfortably furnished, with attractive decor, full and modern kitchen,
quality appliances, washer and dryer. The
late check in was easy and the unit was very clean. We love to shell and Bowman's Beach is just a short walk over a bridge. We will return in 2 yrs

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasperDogCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband & I found Sanibel Island back in 1986 and have been coming back every few years since then. We discovered Blind Pass Condos in 1995 and have been staying there ever since. We have stayed in several units over the years but I think our favorite is F -102. It's got a huge porch and is one of the closest buildings to the beach. It is decorated well and is always clean...the owners redecorate quite often and it's very comfortable. We've always had great experiences at Blind Pass and can't wait to come back as often as possible. We love the fact that it's off the beaten path, with its own private beach and lush manicured grounds. Why spend the money some of the other condos charge when you can stay here in such a nice place for quite a bit less? It's still close enough to both islands (Sanibel & Captiva) to eat and shop to your heart's content. We will be back as often as possible...We love to do the Sanibel Stoop and have enjoyed all the beautiful shells we've picked up over the years, both for ourselves and as gifts for family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shelllover35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My family has been coming to Sanibel since the 70s, and to Blind Pass in particular since the early 90s. Blind Pass offers the best of seclusion with access to resort like amenities (pool, tennis courts, lagoon for canoeing and kayaking, private beach) right on the grounds. The management seems to have changed hands quite a bit lately but they seem to be doing an adequate job of maintaining the level of service we've come to expect (although, they no longer recognize us by name). Blind Pass has been the setting of some of our best family memories and we will be coming back for years to come.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeTroTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

blind pass condos are great. the beach is really nice, you can see the sunset, nice pool and free kyaking. the only problem is that its kind of far away from perriwinkle way which is where all the shops are.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmags226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My family has been to Sanibel numerous times but we never made it to the Bowman’s Beach area. So, for the week between Christmas and New Year’s Eve 2011, we booked a stay at Blind Pass Condominiums. From the reviews I’d read, I had a hunch we would appreciate its quiet, uncongested location. Plus, the free use of kayaks and canoes at the complex seemed like a nice bonus!

One of the first things we noticed was that the grounds are meticulously maintained. Our townhouse unit had been newly renovated and was lovely. But the best feature, hands-down, was the beautiful beach and the fact that there are NO CONDO COMPLEXES as far as the eye can see in either direction! And I didn’t think the beaches on Sanibel could get any better!

I was concerned about the walk from the complex to the beach but it only takes a few minutes if you don’t stop to admire the wildlife you’ll encounter as you cross the little bridge over the bayou. On our visit, we saw great blue heron, white ibis, snowy egret, flying mullet and other species each and every time we crossed the bayou…what a treat! We lingered many times on that bridge, pulling out our binoculars or taking pictures or just enjoying the show.

We did take advantage of the free kayaks twice during our stay, which I highly recommend doing. If you have the stamina, paddle all the way to the end of Clam Bayou (about 45 mins), pull the kayak up on shore and you’ll arrive at a remote stretch of beach where the shelling is great. And don’t forget to pack your binoculars if you go, there is so much to see including osprey in their nests high in the treetops.

My husband and son rode bikes every day…sometimes to the tip of Captiva and other times into Sanibel…it’s the same distance to either. They especially enjoyed having close-up views of the multi-million dollar homes on either side of the road heading toward Captiva.
We enjoyed meals at Sweet Melissa’s, The Bubble Room, Island Pizza and Cheeburger Cheeburger, as well as ice cream at Pinocchio’s.

We will be back to Sanibel Island and, from now on, we’ll probably stay at Blind Pass…truly a “hidden gem” as others have said. The location is perfect—midway between Sanibel and Captiva—where the only “neighbors” are the wildlife living in the protected refuge areas surrounding the complex.

Room Tip: Building G is the closest to the beach and tennis. Other buildings are closer to the pool. Check com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank reginarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, NY
Level Contributor
239 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Two and three br condos, all privately owned, about $1000-1250/week at Thanksgiving. Two or three levels. No elevators. Spacious units, fully furnished. A/C cranks seamlessly all day. Well insulated, as I couldn't hear any other guests next door.
50 yard walk to a nice sized swimming pool. 200-300 yards to the beach. Tennis courts, kayak rentals.
Typical guests include little kids, yet this whole area is quiet!

Each unit's decor varies, of course, as they are all owned by different people. Beds in my unit were fine.

I have nothing bad to say about this place! Maybe too hot during the day and too cool in the evening....hah!

Room Tip: Ask the agents here for any advise. G units are closest to the ocean and tennis. All of the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYBob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
6.5 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,249 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
#14 of 42 in Sanibel Island
247 reviews
6.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,284 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blind Pass Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blind Pass Condominiums

Property: Blind Pass Condominiums
Address: 5117 Sea Bell Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2519
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blind Pass Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blind Pass Condominiums is the hidden jewel in Sanibel's crown. On the quiet west end, secluded, tropical and a short walk to the best shelling beach on the Island, Blind Pass units offer great value. Their spacious room sizes and well designed layouts make vacationing comfortable and convenient. The extra large pool and on-site management also enhance a vacationer's stay. Free tennis offered at all times. Free kayaking and canoeing offered, conditions permitting. We are sure you will find a unit at Blind Pass that you will love and will meet your needs. And, if you have any questions about a unit in our rental program, our rental office will help you make a decision in what best suits your search. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blind Pass Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing