We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place to eat”

The Jacaranda Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome place to eat”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

we ate here this past september...great place to eat...love the atmosphere...waiter was great...we had a romantic dinner for my birthday and sat by the garden area...loved it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lisarae63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    258
    111
    63
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Curt and Lu”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We enjoyed our experience for the new lunch menu, great food and welcoming personalities. We are planning a return visit for dinner and entertainment. I can' t say enough about the quality food and service ! Wonderful find for us ! I recommend the Crab Cakes, Scallops, and Key Lime pie !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2hullflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gord Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Try the DQ across the street”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went to Sanibel for a visit decided to go out to dinner and tried Jacaranda.Like others have said the place looks dated and had a odor of sewer The salads were wet and wilted (cant stand that) I ordered the chicken Marsala the meat was tender but NO NO flavor. My wife had the shrimp paradiso and said it was good.For an island resort type setting you would expect much more.Hit the DQ across the street get a blizzard and enjoy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Good food but service needs work”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile


Good food, service needs work.

We Wanted to try this place as we had seen some great reviews. We grabbed a table in the very nice but dark area. The twinkle lights around the ceiling gave the area a nice and relaxing ambiance to the place. We were quickly greeted by a friendly but somewhat pushy waitress.

We ordered drinks and when they arrived we ordered some appetizers. I had the bucket of Muscles, which was served with a wonderful basil and tomato sauce with just enough heat. We also had the Calamari which was ok, the Beef Satays were good but not a big enough portion (even for an appetizer...and I'm not a big eater...promise!). The seared Ahi Tuna has great flavor and was perfectly prepared, accompanied by wasabi, yum!

Although the food was good, we would have enjoyed it more had our food not been slammed down on the table at us and if we didn't have to wait so long for our second round if drinks to arrive. We will go back again, just maybe not sit at the bar.

Helpful?
Thank Bossman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Decent service, poor food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I visited the Jacaranda for dinner. We were greeted promptly and seated on their patio. Our waiter arrived quickly and took our order for drinks, returned with those and took our dinner order. We both chose the grouper and asked for it to be grilled. Our salads arrived and had obviously been sitting for a long time since they were made - the lettuce was wilted and the tomato slices were chewy. The grouper was overcooked and tough. We had grouper several times during our Sanibel visit and this was the only time it was not cooked properly. This at $30 for the entree! Other places charge much less for much better cooking. The patio where we were seated has wooden rafters supporting a screen, and the ends of the rafters were rotten. I look for signs that someone cares about a restaurant, and the Jacaranda does not look cared for. As others have said in their reviews, this place seems to be living on a past reputation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jacaranda Restaurant also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Jacaranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing