We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review”

The Jacaranda Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It was our first visit to Jacaranda, starting with Happy Hour. Good drinks and good deals on appetizers. The margaritas and draft beer were good and the calamari excellent. Moving on to the dining room for dinner...Above average service. The Florida grouper (grilled) was a bit overdone for my liking. Our server offered to take it back and have another order prepared, but we had waited a rather long time to be served and I did not want to extend our wait even longer. My husband's Mahi stuffed with crabmeat (was supposed to be flounder but they were out of it by 6 p.m.?) was better. The server offered me a dessert to help compensate for the overdone grouper which was nice of her to do. We would definitely do another happy hour here. Not sure about another dinner. So high marks for the bar and happy hour and average for the dining portion of the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvmyvacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    260
    112
    63
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Re-visit after 18 years!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It's been a while and maybe our memory is fading, but it seemed quite different from when we last visited. None the less, we had a very enjoyable meal, although our waitress was a little over attentive and persuasive with our orders.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyds, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went to the Jacaranda on the last night of our stay on Sanibel Island and we we're disappointed. The meal and service was excellent and the atmosphere was very warm and laid back. We were there during September, which is low season on the island, which may have accounted for no waiting to get in. The patio bar in the back is fun as well, especially around Saturday at 10PM. Good way to finish a nice vacation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julesz2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good experience. Would go again.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our meal and the service. Stuffed grouper and grilled grouper. Service exceptional. Also have a great bar and early bird.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BebeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our last night on the island”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Each time I return to Sanibel Island, I try to have dinner at the Jacaranda. It is a little more upscale than most restaurants on the island, but yet still casual, and not overly pricey. We got there early for the before 6pm specials, and most of our party chose one of those entrees and others ordered off the regular menu. Everything was perfect and delicious, from the salads and sides to the main courses. It was also nice and quiet, which is hard to find these days when you go out to eat. My Dad especially appreciated that as we could carry on a normal conversation without yelling across the table! The atmosphere is very tropical and tranquil. Service was superb, but not oppressive.
All in all, I would definitely recommend The Jacaranda for at least one nice evening while on the island. They have lots of seafood, but also items for the landlubbers in the party. And if you get there early, their specials run about $16-20, including salad, bread and a side item...I don't consider that to be too pricey, especially on Sanibel. So check it out for yourself. Yum...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baseball1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jacaranda Restaurant also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Jacaranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing