We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night life in sanibel”

The Jacaranda Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Mims
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“night life in sanibel”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were looking for a place to have an after dinner drink and the jacaranda was recommended. They have live music that plays until midnight. We did not eat there, but there were people in the lounge eating. The bartender was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed our evening drinks and dancing. There is not much to do late in Sanibel, but we had a good time at the patio lounge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    258
    111
    63
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Pepperpot Soup is UNBELIEVABLY GOOD!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a lovely dinner at the Jacaranda with very good service provided by Bob (it was his last day). Bob recommended the soup of the day which was Pepperpot Soup. He seemed to be the only waiter actually trying to sell this soup. My husband ordered it, and it was one of the yummiest things we've ever eaten! It had eggplant and guava in it for sure, and it truly made every one of my taste buds sing! Somewhat sweet, yet spicy & savory. We've been looking for a similar recipe since we returned home from vacation. Their pina colada was also amazingly good! Our entrees (Salmon with chili sauce and Fruite del Mar) were delicious, although some of the clams and mussels had a lot of grit in them. Our 6 year old didn't have to eat anything fried - they offer a kids' Surf & Turf with shrimp. Overall, a very nice dining experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a little bit of everything”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were out for a celebration dinner with our Realtor after settlement on our new beach house on Sanibel Island. Our realtor, Ira suggested Jacaranda since it was his favorite on the Island. Fine dining done right with a diverse menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldharleyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food Poisoning. Bad. Stay away.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have been to 'The Jac' twice before so we figured we knew what we were in for. Semi fancy dinner with local sea food and decent wine list.

Well, what we got was VERY SICK.

Nothing like killing your vacation like bad Crab. I had the King Crab Putanesca and my wife had the Crab Cakes. She felt sick for at least 30 hrs after and I was much worse.

Quality control here is zero now obviously. Save your vacation. Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billigerous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grateful for grouper”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We dined with a group for a wedding reception. The grouper with crab stuffing was great! There was actually a large quantity of crab! delicious! Baked potatoe and squash were very complimentary! Another diner at our table enjoyed the chicken Marsala. Service was excellent! Would dine there again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jacaranda Restaurant also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Jacaranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing