We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bar Food, Great Happy Hour”

The Jacaranda Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NASHVILLE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Bar Food, Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Service could have been better because they had a no show employee that put everyone hustling, doing all they could do. I understand that is part of running a business. The staff was working very hard and doing all they could do to take care of a full house.

We enjoyed all the appetizers and look forward to going back. They have a nice selection for six bucks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romerso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    255
    108
    63
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“If you get Susan as a server, request someone else!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our only problem with our visit was with our server, Susan. She was the worst. She would disappear for extremely long periods of time while we would see other diners servers several times before seeing ours. We never ever not give a tip, but this was one exception.
Now, on the other hand, we waited at the bar while we were waiting to be seated. The bartender was so busy, but very efficient and friendly.
The food was all very good. My hubby had been so excited to try the Oysters Romanoff. They were a little disappointing. Not that they were bad, just a very unusual mixture of flavors. However, the Oysters Jacaranda were delicious. I had the special which was a Salmon over Fettuccine, it was delicious. Hubby had the Sesame Encrusted Tuna, which he really enjoyed. We ended up spending a little over 2 1/2 hours at this place, thanks to our disappearing waitress.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service lacking, Food OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My group of 5 visited the Jacarnda the first week of Feb. We were seated at a table in the outdoor garden but not near any of the outdoor heaters. It was a very cool evening and we were freezing! There was one waiter taking care of the entire outdoor area, so the service was very slow. I noticed other tables that waited longer than we did for our food. We finally asked to move to a warmer table before the entree's arrived. I had the Sanibel Oscar, filet with crabmeat and sauce. It was very good! The rest of my group were not as happy with their meals. The staff was friendly, but no one was smiling or having a good time. It was a little stuffy. My rating would have been higher if the service had been better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCinKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Pa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We both had fish,I had Grouper and it was excellent my wife had Colbie and that was also excellent, salads were OK and the bread was good. All around it was a good place to go.

Helpful?
Thank Hotrod100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is our 3rd time vacationing in Sanibel and had never tried Jacaranda. There are 3 areas to the restaurant and we chose the dining room. The staff were very nice but are food took quite awhile to arrive so a little disappointed! The food was very good; we had the steak skewers appetizer, my husband had the filet and shrimp ( the filet was very tender but not much flavor). I had the snapper cooked in parchment paper and was very good. It is overpriced for what we had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meishdublinOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jacaranda Restaurant also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Jacaranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing