We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Valentines Day Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterview - CLOSED

Waterview
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: Discover a diverse culinary offering sure to please any palate and the finest selection of fresh, locally sourced seafood paired with an extensive selection of robust wines. No other restaurant on the Island can match our combination of professional service, innovative cuisine and breathtaking views of the Gulf of Mexico. Reserve Waterview for any event, large or small, and enjoy an exceptional dining experience that is sure to impress.
Clinton, NY
Level Contributor
158 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful Valentines Day Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the special Valentines Day package here during our recent stay at the Sundial. The dinner included a bottle of wine, Oysters Rockefeller, Tuna Nicoise, Surf and Turf, and Bananas Foster. The steak and dessert were to die for. Ladies also received a long-stemmed red rose. The staff was friendly and attentive. There was a 3 piece musical ensemble playing fun dance music, so we made a night of it. The regular menu also looked really good, but this was the only night we dined here. I recommend it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but depressing ambiance & very slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We really enjoyed the appetizers (pot stickers, shrimp w/bacon) and entrees (hanger steak, linguini with shrimp) that we ordered, although the dessert (key lime pie) was a bit too tart..

The lighting and décor is very outdated, and is downright depressing. The staff was short-handed, and consequently service was very slow. Patty, the woman waiting on us, was doing her best and was very nice and made the situation tolerable, but she was getting any support. Michelle, the supervisor, said she knew they had a problem and that new management was in place and planning improvements.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New but needs a lot to survive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Waterview just opened this summer but the kitchen needs help if the restaurant is to survive in a competitive setting. We were a party of 9 and I had the lobster bisque which was gloppy (flour?) and way too spicy. I ate only three spoonfuls and the server didn't ask about it when it was cleared. The chopped salad was overdressed and had quite a bit of the core in it. It too was not finished. $19 for mediocre seems excessive.
My friends steak which was to have been rare to medium rare came out well done and tough.
It was hot until we said something than they turned the air on. It didn't seem it had been on previously. We were the only table until much later when 2 women came so maybe they didn't think it was necessary to cool it for one party.
We want this place to make it so before the season starts, I recommend they take a look at their menu and perfect it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kgoodr8559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret on Sanibel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been coming to Sanibel for 30 years or more and believe that we have experienced most of the fine restaurants on the Island. This restaurant, located at Sundial Resort, is very close to our condo, but we have never taken the opportunity to dine at this location.... What a mistake!!! The food, service and view were all outstanding! My wife had the Clay Pot Baked Mediterranean Grouper and felt it was one of the best meals she has ever had on the island! Our waitress, Michele, was also impressive and very helpful. We will be back!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Manager at Waterview, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Ray, Thank you for posting a review of our Waterview Restaurant at Sundial Beach Resort. We are so glad you found us and that you had a wonderful experience here. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit.
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average dinner meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife, grandson and I had dinner here. Thinking we were having a dinner meal at the nicer restaurant at the resort, the appetizer we had, the becon shrimp roll tasted like it had been frozen and slightly over cooked. Our main dishes were great except the stuffed Anna potatoes were over cooked as well. We were there on a night when they were training a new server, the service was average. I would give this place another try, based on the main dish.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterview also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing