We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Island”

Whitney's Bait and Tackle
Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best on the Island”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Whitney's is the location for fishing needs on Sanibel. Whitney and the staff are always friendly and helpful on fishing info and tips. Their live shrimp are much better than other locations. Best selection of live and frozen bait. Fully stocked fishing supplies and they also do reel repair and cleaning. During the busy season (March/April) they usually had live shrimp when others did not but you should arrive early. Open early in season for the "sunrise fishermen".

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
404 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Helpful, Knowlegable, Reasonable”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My boys get all of their fishing needs here. It's our first stop when we arrive on the island. And their fishing shirts are awesome. But most of all, Whitney and his staff are so helpful and offer fishing tips and tricks to help you have a successful adventure. They rent rods, too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank southmiamijill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“this is the place for fishing tackle, bait and local knowledge!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Whitney and his staff are the most knowledgeable of all the bait shops on Sanibel. They are more than willing to tell you where to go, when to go and what to use to catch fish. Whitney is an expert in rods and reels and will steer you in the right direction. For a local bait shop, the prices are very competitive. Bait prices are the best on the island. This should be your first choice in Sanibel bait shops.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank leroy733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great People, Great Service”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I came to Sanibel Island March 13th to March 20th 2014 and went to Whitney's to rent a fishing rod and pick up some Tackle and was VERY Pleased with the Staff and Owner of this Nice Shop. The owner went out of his way to make sure I knew what to use for bait and lures and as we were talking the owner and his staff made sure ALL of my Questions were answered. This is "The Bait and Tackle store" to go to for a Polite and Friendly Staff that has Outstanding Customer Service. Thank You for your Service and "Tight Lines" to you and your staff.

Mark B
Cape Cod, MA

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Helpful, Whitney know his stuff, and good value!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Got some good local info, got my spinning reel loaded, and bought a new fly reel. Whitney is super helpful!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kojee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitney's Bait and Tackle also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Whitney's Bait and Tackle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing