We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest owner, super helpful !!!”

Whitney's Bait and Tackle
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nicest owner, super helpful !!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Whitney takes charters & owns this bait/tackle shop. He KNOWS where the fish are and is soooo nice and helpful. Everyone on the island loves him and appreciates his kindness and enthusiasm for fishing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank clairann2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very knowledgable, great selection”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited them again recently after an earlier trip right after they opened in spring. Great store set up very well. Lots of items and an EXTREMELY knowledgeable staff. Also went on a charter with Whitney in spring and he got me the biggest catch I have had in years. Overall a great alternative e to other options on the island, especially since the service elsewhere has really suffered lately,

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best bait shop ever!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My teenage son Alex is an avid fisherman, and this shop was just the place for him, and our entire family. Whitney and his staff are awesome! There wasn't one day we visited (and that would be every day, including Thanksgiving!) that they weren't friendly, accommodating and just wonderful. Great bargains and advice of fishing. We will be back, Whitney!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipburg
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Came in several times for some gear and local knowledge. Whitney is very easy to talk with and shares local knowledge about where to fish and what flies or tackle to use. I'll be booking a trip next year with him.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Plague4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
1 review
“The Best of the Best”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

He was open every day of our vacation, (Even Thanksgiving), and was the most helpful person I have ever met fishing. He put me on the fish and gave me the correct ways to catch them and where to catch them. I caught a 37" redfish and multiple smaller snook and spanish mackerel. If you are into fishing and want to have a great time and CATCH FISH, Visit Whitney's.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitney's Bait and Tackle also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Whitney's Bait and Tackle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing