We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very accommodating for tents.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Periwinkle Park & Campground
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not very accommodating for tents.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

At the time of our trip, this was the only option for tent camping on the island. The campground is geared more for RV camping and has a TON of mobile homes that appear to be for seasonal residents. This place is HUGE. What few tent sites they do have are in a corner of the park which happens to be near the fence that separates the park from the main road on the island. Right next door is a convenience store that has delivery trucks backing up (loud beeping) and unloading (much banging) well before 7 AM every morning. Traffic on the road was extremely loud and went into the early hours of the morning. We were assigned tent site number 3, which is the absolute worst site out of all the tent sites. This site backs up to a storage shed for the park and there were a number of rusted mobile home stairs stored off to the side. During breakfast one morning, two maintenance guys had to drive their cart through our site to pull some equipment out of the shed. We didn’t want to place our tent too close to the shed for fear of creatures living underneath, but what area was left was full of tree roots. We surveyed the other tent sites while there - these all seemed much better, but shared the same problem as ours regarding noise. Despite all this, my ten year old loved this place - a great maze of a place to explore on his bike and he loved the aviary. The bathrooms were decent and kept clean, but the garbage stations were often full to overflowing. The bike ride to the beach was convenient and there was plenty of room to stash our bikes once we got there. There are no amenities at this location, so plan accordingly, particularly if you have kids. This is a good place to tent if you are only looking for a piece of dirt to sleep on and will spend most of your time out and about; but if the only option left were site 3, then I would either insist on a significant discount, find a hotel, or reschedule my trip for when another tent site was available. And I would bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank HercMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Periwinkle P, Owner at Periwinkle Park & Campground, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for the review of our Park and campground. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. The primitive tent camping area is an area that needs attention and we're happy to say we have started our planned improvements. We're so glad your son enjoyed Sanibel and his time in the Park. It is a very special place and we hope you decide to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    50
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
74
80
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Unique place to visit or stay. Small walk to the beach. A familly community, people are very hospitable and the owners are too. Camping sites for all tastes and all kinds are accepted, RV, popup, tent, trailer, etc., some are luxurious, very big overlooking the ponds. Visitors are welcome. A stop not to be missed especially cycling and family. As it is unique, it must have its place well in advance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bacaisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

we did camp 2 nights and loved the place....close to beach about half a mile....we most like the Fort Myers beach but in case you can walk to the beach about 10-15 minutes....we will stay again if we are around the Sanibel island...The nature is beautiful in this island.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oznar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the only campground on the island - it has been here a long time...I first camped here 33 years ago but it has kept its old Florida character. We were in motorhome this time, so I cannot speak to the shower/bathroom facilities. Sites are spacious for a Florida RV park, grounds are well maintained. The beach is a 1/2 walk or bike. As noted below - BRING BIKES. The island has great bike paths and everything you need is a short bike ride away. Only problem, for many campers - especially RVers - is the No Dog policy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Donauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Campground was much more than expected. Grounds are very well kept. Camp site had lots of shade. Bird sanctuary was such a sweet surprise and pleasure.
Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Was a short hike to beach but well worth it.
Close walk to the bath house. Showers and restroom acceptable even to me, the picky one!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Btaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I really like the quietness and uniqueness of this campground but had to pay $50/night cash for a tent sight. I camp all over the country at really nice places and never pay $50 and cash nonetheless. They actually charge $35 for 2 people and $5/kid. I have 5 people so it came to $50. I asked why kids were so much more and she said because of water. Didn't make sense to me but I paid it for several nights. It's the only campground on the island so you don't have options. It is in an awesome location, located a half mile walk to the beach. Sanibel doesn't have easy beach access so this is a plus. Otherwise, you have to drive to one of the public beach access parking areas and pay $2/hour. The beaches are beautiful! Their is a bird sanctuary on the property with 40 different kinds of birds. They have a lot of exotic birds in cages as well. They also have lemurs in the back cages to view which makes it fun for the campers to stop by any time. That is what adds to its appeal. No dogs. Garbage cans convenient with recycling. The bathrooms are average. The showers had plenty of hot water but the drains had stuff in them the duration of our stay. I don't like that. They aren't spotless but not too dirty either. This place is really quiet and safe. We only had 4 or 5 other campers around us while we were there and we didn't hear anything. That was great!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AddrenalineJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I agree with the other posters - it is a nice RV park in a great location. If it was closer to the Gulf, it would be even better. It is a 1/2 mile walk which can be long if you are lugging beachgear, but a quick bike ride.
The campground has a lot of trees and tropical vegetation. Some sites are partial shaded, others in full sun. The (2) RV campground areas are near the ponds. There are a lot of permanent sites - mostly seasonal residents in the other areas of the park.

Not very full in summer season so we weren't crowded by other campers. If it was full, some sites are fairly closed to each other. June - Nov 2013 off season rate is $35/night - $50 in season. Full hook ups. No dogs allowed. There is a tent area, sites are very large and private but no one was camping in that area while we were there.

They have 2 duck ponds with swans and rare ducks. Also tropical birds & lemures in cages. Lots of benches so you can sit an watch the birds.

Restrooms (3 toilets, 3 showers) in ladies were clean but people do track sand in. Bathhouse has ceiling fan but as previous poster said, it doesn get hot. There is a laundry area, mail center with regular mailbox, fish cleaning area, etc.

Great launching point for bicycling along Periwinkle. There are bikepaths, water fountains, shady rest areas along the major roadways on the island.

Lazy Flamingo is very closed - excellent mesquire grilled grouper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sierra_Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
3.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Park & Campground

Property: Periwinkle Park & Campground
Address: 1119 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-4719
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periwinkle Park & Campgrounds is a friendly full hook up campground located on beautiful Sanibel Island. We offer accommodations for campers from motor homes to tents and everything in between. Complete electrical, water & sewer hookups for your RV, Motor Home, 5th Wheel or Pop-ups. Just a 10 minute walk to white, sandy shell-lined beaches (we're only .5 of a mile away!). Amenities include: Complete Hookups, Picnic Tables, Restrooms/Showers, Laundry, Ice, LP Gas & Pavilion available for private & public functions. Beach, Golf, Shops & Dining all within walking or cycling distance. Be sure and bring your bicycles! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing