We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Joint”
Review of Lazy Flamingo

Lazy Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Joint”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

What a cool little restaurant, it's like a bar / diner with great food and great service. You order at the bar and collect your food at the bar, we had wings, seafood and a salad, but you can also just chill out with your friends over a drink and watch the game. A very relaxed atmosphere and great place to hang out after a day on the beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NickRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    562
    207
    69
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had to take a break from the traffic on Sanibel and pulled off to have lunch. This is more like a small bar. You go to the bar to place, pick up, and pay for your order. Our food was good. The shrimp basket was the best one on vacation, fried but lightly breaded.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank seniorita60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

self-service raw bar and restaurant with a great bar tender and outstanding food quality. atmosphere is rustic but clean. wonderful spot to grab a quick bite and a beer en route to the beach

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fredontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have been vacationing on Sanibel and Captiva for years. Just now have discovered this yummy restaurant.Everything we ordered was great. I guess the best on menu was the raw oysters. I do not eat them but my husband and children said they were fresh and delicious. We went there two times during our Christmas break and both times we had not a complaint. Only down side was not many tables and they are super busy so plan a wait. Both times we were there we sat at the bar. It was comfortable..it's a fun place . Lazy Flamingo is one of my new favorite restaurants on San/Cap.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ukmom1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jerey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was a hit or miss night”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The four of us were looking for an informal Wednesday evening dinner. The restaurant had a bar type ambience, with both indoor and outdoor seating. We were all in the mood for the grouper, which was sold at market price. (Market price was $16.99, regardless of the dish in which it was served). One of us ordered the grouper sandwich, which came with a nice sized piece of fried grouper, which was tender and juicy. Another ordered the grouper on the Caesar salad, which also was good. The other two ordered the grouper basket, with fries - which was a mistake. The basket had four smaller sized pieces of fried fish which were over cooked, and not as appetizing as the sandwich and the salad. Our recommendation, should you be interested in the fresh fish, would be to avoid the fish and fries in the basket. As only two of the four meals met expectations, we divided to post an average rating. Service was reasonable and friendly, though we had to ask for additional water; and the delivery of our food was quite prompt. Hopefully, the next time we will avoid the grouper basket and we will be able to provide an improved rating for the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Flamingo also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lazy Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing