We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tuna steak”
Review of Lazy Flamingo

Lazy Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best tuna steak”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Lazy Flamingo was recommended and nearby our RV Park. I was surprised about the tuna steak, it was great! After returning one year later the tuna steak again was the best ever.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    557
    205
    69
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magog, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good restaurant and affordable”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Well located to watch sunset. Food is good and not too expensive, nothing too fancy. I recommend for a good lunch or dinner!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sanibel Satisfies!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

One of our favorite restaurants in the entire Ft Myers area! Lazy Flamingo Sanibel has the best Grouper dishes. My favorite is the small Caesar Salad with Blackened Grouper and my husband's is the Blackened Grouper Platter. Don't forget the dozen raw oysters and beer to start the night out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethofFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Grouper Menu”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Grouper Caesar, Grilled Grouper, Blackened Grouper, Fried Grouper...sandwiches or baskets, this is the place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lazy flamingo sanibel”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

we are family with 11 year old triplets. we travel to sanibel annually, and each time we make a point of spending at least 1 day at the beach by blind pass. it is a beautiful beach. less crowded than many others on sanibel. we make a point of arriving 3 or 4 hours before sunset, so that we can spend time on the beach, run over to the lazy flamingo for dinner, and then go back out to the beach for as beautiful a sunset as you will ever see. the lazy flamingo's atmosphere is a little quirky to say the least. it's small inside but it has a charm that's hard to describe. you can throw a t-shirt or coverup on over your swimsuit and you are welcome. the food is fine, you order at the bar, and they call your name when its ready.pitchers of beer have zip-lock bags of ice thrown in to keep your beer cold without watering it down . the ring on the string game really keeps the children /adults entertained.
when the girls are behind the bar they are hard working and very friendly. we have always had a great time. the last time we visited the lazy flamingo an old grouch named larry was behind the bar. he had zero patience, not helpful when your party of 2 families includes 5 eleven year olds. he made us feel like he was doing us a favor allowing us to get a bite to eat there. it was not that it was crowded, there was only 1 other couple in the place.
we decided to go back another day so that the image larry created would not be the last thing we remembered about the lazy flamingo. there was a young man working , and we had just come off the beach. the air conditioning was cranking inside, and my wife and kids were very cold. i bought $100 worth of dry t-shirts for them to wear and the young guy included the clothes on our food bill. i don't know if it was on purpose or not, but including it on the bill would have meant approximately $20 additional in a tip for him, and i asked him to remove the t-shirts from the food bill. i felt like i was beeing scammed.
when the girls are working, there is no more enjoyable place to be on the island for a quick bite, a cold beer, and the ability to walk outside and catch the same beautiful sunset that people see a the mucky duck. here you will not wait as long, can dress far more casually, and not be rushed through dinner. when the guys are behind the bar, it was a diiferent story.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripdadNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Flamingo also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lazy Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing