We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Sandwiches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Flamingo

Lazy Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yummy Sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We love the Lazy Flamingo and so does our son. They serve the kids dishes with a take home frisbee which is such a great idea and always a huge hit with our son. They are consistent with their food and it's always good. We always make sure to visit during our trip because we only have had good experiences here. The atmosphere is great, the food is good and the staff has always been so nice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank igotidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    530
    193
    66
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great place for kids, food is so so.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Lazy Flamingo was recommended to us by a friend who has as many kids as we do. The restaurant is quite popular and there was a short wait when we arrived. Once we were seated, the service was excellent. They really catered to the kids. One of the staff wore a pink flamingo hat and would go from table to table entertaining the kids. We got our food in a timely fashion. The kids enjoyed their food. For the adults, we all ordered grouper which is their signature menu item. It was so so. I probably would go back to this restaurant with the kids but order hamburger next time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place to enjoy great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

The Lazy Flamingo is a funky, kid friendly restaurant serving great seafood. We had blackened grouper sandwiches which were so good we bought some of the blackened seasoning to take home. The kids were served on souvenir frisbees, which they loved. The service was only OK, but the food made it worthwhile anyway.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Calvair13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Skip this local restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Lazy Flamingo was touted as a must but it really was a bust! The menu was limited and almost all fried, the wait service was nonexistant and the worst was my friend ended up with a terrible upset stomach after a meal of fried grouper.

I don't do many negative reviews but this place deserves one. Other restaurants on Sanibel have much more to offer. Skip this one.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sfsarkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our family of four enjoyed our meal at Lazy Flamingo very much. I had the Mesqite Salmon which was very good. My wife had the Chicken Marinara. Both of our meals were off of the $9.99 value menu from 4:00 - 6:00. My son had their Grouper basket and my daughter had a Chicken Tender Basket off of the Kids menu which was very generous in portions. Their French Fries are excellent. Overall, we were very pleased with the Lazy Flamingo.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jdwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Flamingo also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lazy Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing