We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb dining”

Mad Hatter Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Margate, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simply superb dining”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, great service. This is a fantastic, albeit expensive, restaurant on my favorite island home. We've been here multiple times and the food is consistently terrific. The waitstaff is attentive not intrusive. The wines are very good. All in all this is one of my most highly recommended places on Sanibel Island.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    938
    209
    81
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Ky.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best (and most expensive) food on the Island”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Impeccable in every way! Plan on a minimum of $50. per person with 20% gratuity added. Flawless service; the best seafood (lobster, crab cakes, shrimp) and filets on the Island. Kudos to the chef! I wish I could eat there on a weekly basis, but unfortunately, I live a thousand miles away. This place might make me move to Captiva, though!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sher0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A very nice place for dinner on Sanibel Island”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I found the Mad Hatter to be cozy with a well chosen wine list that complemented the menu. We ordered two different fish dinners and both were fresh and excellently prepared. The restaurant is a little pricey so I may not go back every time I am in town but will definitely return for special occasions or to make the occasion special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent dining, beautiful sunset”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I was very surprised when we arrive as the restaurant looks like a small house and you cannot guess the food will be so good if you did not read trip advisor!
Everything turns around Alice in wonderland and it is very pretty.
The dining room is tiny with a beautiful view on the sea, behind a mangrove, but you can absolutely admire the sunset.
The service was great, very quick. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly.
We took the shrimp in Phillo and the baked oysters as appetizers, then it took the scallops and my husband the wagu beef. Everything was delicious.

I highly recommend this restaurant

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Frederique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving; Excellent dining !”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Mad Hatter looks like your typical shore point fish and chips dine out. It is the complete opposite ! Impeccable food, drink, and service, albeit expensive. A la Carte with Entrées, $29-45. Unless you are wealthy, this is not family dining with kids. I adored the Black Grouper over a Coconut flavored Risotto, with a fresh vegetable medley that was not the usual afterthought. I can't speak of desserts because I didn't partake. The building is definitely in need of an upgrade. You look at a visually distinctive plate complete with orchid, and then the walls, and wonder why ?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edmond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Hatter Restaurant also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mad Hatter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing