We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different”
Review of The Island Cow

The Island Cow
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Big portions and good food. Service is fast and the atmosphere is very good. We had 'catch of the day' mahi and it was very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,669
    1,735
    708
    242
    155
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family-friendly, Multigenerational”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

One look at the menu will tell you that this is not haute cuisine. What it is, however, is a highly popular family-friendly place which does a decent job of both entertaining kids and turning tables efficiently enough that parents (and other adults) are not subjected to screaming kids. Plan on extended time to absorb the massive menu the first time you visit. It is relaxed, indoor-outdoor,
and customer-friendly, tongue in cheek/camp. Fare is good, focused on value. Picture Bob Evans in trunks and flip flops in a seaside environment, with a sense of humor. Available for what you want just about whenever you want it. early morning to 9pm.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seab67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Breakfast lives up to the hype”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

It's my understanding that the Island Cow on Sanibel was named one of the top 5 places for breakfast in the South, by Southern Living magazine. I don't know about the other four, but breakfast today, early on Sunday, was superbly done. Long-time Sanibel visitors, we hadn't tried IC for breakfast before but we surely will again on our next visit.

Our orders consisted of the specail, "Juan-Bo" with two pancakes (I had blueberry), two eggs perfectly done, two large, tasty, properly cooked sausages, grits, and fruit slices... plus an order of pigs in a blanket (the same sausages in fluffy pancakes. Both dishes had cubed, perfectly done potatoes. Starbucks coffee and freshly-squeezed orange juice completed the $25 meal.

It's hard to serve a bad breakfast, I supposed, but it's equally hard to serve a great one. Island Cow serves a great one in my opinion. Service is attentive, the coffee cup never falls below half-full, and the food was excellent and attractively served.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank remarkability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice Island Feel”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We ate here twice during our week long stay on Sanibel. Great island atmosphere. Was impressed when I tried to order the Shrimp and grits and was told they were not recommended. Love the honesty. Biggest variety I have ever seen from sandwiches to seafood to home style cooking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below expectations”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

If we ever come back to Sanibel, we will definitely avoid this place. The food was not good. I had the grouper and believe it would've tasted fresher out of Chicago. My wife ordered a very chewy New York strip. My daughter's order of angel hair pasta tasted like spaghettios out of a can. The service was friendly but slow.

For the price, the value was not there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Cow also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Island Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing