We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good But Crowded”
Review of Sanibel Cafe

Sanibel Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
331 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Very Good But Crowded”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The food is good and the menu is good too. You would think that a place with a good brunch would have their service down pat. They do for the most part. Sunday morning - however - It is just crazy crowded.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    252
    72
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Coconut French Toast to Die For!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is the best french toast I have ever eaten. The coconut french toast has great flavor and was very filling. There were about 6 half slices for $8.99. My friend also had the coconut french toast but also ordered a side of bacon. The price of the bacon was $3.25 and she only got 2 strips. I felt like that was a bit pricey for what she got.
They also have lunch choices that looked good as they passed my table. But I don't think I would ever order anything but the coconut french toast!
They are only open until 2:30pm so if you want to eat here make sure you get there before 2:30.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigred_rolltide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Favorite breakfast stop”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Skip that line at Island Cow for ordinary food. For over 25 years, we have found this to be the best...friendly service, light omlettes, apples,grits, potatoes, toast....pleasant atmosphere ,friendly servers! We always take guests here...another good one is Lighthouse cafe butnisnisngenerally more crowded....both good!





Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were riding our bikes on Periwinkle and decided to try this place for breakfast. It is small but that allows you to get very good and personal service. My husband and I shared an omelet and pancakes. It was just the right amount of food for sharing and the side bowl of fresh fruit was the perfect complement to the meal. We enjoyed the unique tabletops with different shell designs, friendly staff and casual atmosphere. We are so glad we tried the Sanibel café.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TEFox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Had lunch and came back for breakfast”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Love the decor. Bright, clean, and beachy.

Had lunch on our first visit. The chef's salad was basic. Probably easier if it was served in a bowl instead of a plate. They were never able to cook the hard boiled egg while we were there which didn't reflect well on the cook staff.

But service was friendly and casual.

We returned for breakfast the next day and had eggs Benedict where the eggs were done perfectly!

Easy to get to by car or bike. Nice shopping center location with lots of parking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank reddogsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing