We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service. Awesome location!”

Thistle Lodge Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Thistle Lodge Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Casa Ybel Road
Description: The award-winning menu at the Thistle Lodge includes a blend of Floridian, European, and Asian flavors designed to please even the most discriminating palates. The seafood is fresh and hand-cut right in our own kitchen. Steaks are flown in from the Midwest and dry aged to enhance their flavor and tenderness. Even the herbs, fruits, and vegetables we use in our cuisine are custom-grown. Whether you are planning a romantic evening for two, celebrating a special occasion or simply looking for the best beachfront dining in Sanibel Island, the Thistle Lodge offers an unrivaled culinary experience. Thistle Lodge is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and offers both indoor and outdoor dining. The upper level of the restaurant is available for private events.
Sikeston, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great service. Awesome location!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The steak and lobster was wonderful. The best thing about this restaurant is the location! It has a beautiful view of the beach and the resort.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    177
    62
    48
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful views!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This restaurant has a great balance of high quality food, atmosphere and views. Staff was very pleasant and professional. Service was prompt but not overbearing. Menu is strong on seafood, but offers a nice mix for those of who are less seafood oriented. Every dish was beautifully plated, but more importantly, was perfectly executed. Good wine list, fair prices for the high quality. Even an interesting kids menu. Well worth a visit if you're on Sanibel or Captiva.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring MD
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful view over dinner”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were in Sanibel for a long holiday weekend. We had an occasion to celebrate (a recent promotion) and chose this place based on Open Table reviews. It was terrific. Good service. Good food. Great view of the beach. It was a lovely experience and I would recommend to anyone looking for a special place for dinner on Sanibel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KL2MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening with a delightful dinner.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beachfront dining room felt unusually intimate. Approachable wine list with good, crusty bread. A ceviche sampler plate had fresh, sweet citrus, and spicy preparations. I had lobster and lump crab "diver" scallops. It was all fresh and probably one of the most pleasant, unified flavor plates I have ever eaten. My wife had the daily special pompano and described it as very good. Rosie provided engaging, appropriate service. A little on the pricey side, but not extortionate. I'll return as soon as possible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cte39794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love It”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Menu is excellent prices are fair. We sat in the gazebo area which got quite hot, the air conditioning couldn't over come the humidity. I will go again and again but I will wait for winter. The pork tenderloin was to die for!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thistle Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Thistle Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing