We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cuban Sandwich - good but don't add Italian herbs”
Review of East End Deli

East End Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: American, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout
Bennington, Nebraska
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cuban Sandwich - good but don't add Italian herbs”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've always enjoyed the Cuban sandwich at the East End Deli. It's a little pricey but the portion is big and the quality is good. This time the recipe seems to have changed. The sandwich would have been great if not for an overwhelming taste of Italian seasoning. I think it was oregano, but it is something usually in spaghetti sauce and usually doesn't overpower the sauce. I took the sandwich apart and sure enough, some sort of green flakes are all over it inside. It would have been a great sandwich it I could have tasted the roast pork, ham, cheese, etc. instead of it tasting like an over-spiced Italian sub. Hold the Italian seasoning, it doesn't belong on a Cuban, please.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank John_in_BenningtonNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    10
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Cuban sandwich!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice surprise on the east end of the island. The. Cuban sandwich was very tasty, and hit the spot for a good lunch on the go. The deli is combined with a general store offering a nice variety of island "stuff." Definitely worth a stop!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
318 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Loved the black beans.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We chose to walk over from Seahorse Cottages to pick up a Sunday evening meal. Leaning on the recommendations of others we chose the black beans on saffron rice. We split one order back on our patio deck enjoying the light breeze and setting sun. A great end to our first day on the island.

Helpful?
Thank Hobomonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What Happened?!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We used to love this place and would come here twice a year when we vacation. Just got our usual and it was horrible. Apparently its under new ownership...so sad to see this little gem change.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn P, Manager at East End Deli, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Sara,
Change is often difficult and we have greatly expanded our offerings of wine and types of other beverages for our customers, we strive to continually improve.
Unfortunately without any indication of what the problem was, it is impossible for us to correct unless it is brought to our attention. I apologize for whatever was the issue and hope that you will provide me with more information in the future so your experience will be better. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
230 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Large Portions, not a lot of Taste....”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stopped by on a Thursday when all was pretty slow. The man who waited on us was very friendly. The chicken salad wrap was OK, not much flavor, a few grapes, not much bleu cheese, but fresh and a reasonable portion. The sandwich with roast beef, ham, turkey and Bacon was huge but did not have much flavor. We may try it again and ask for more spices and condiments.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillP1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn P, Manager at East End Deli, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Bill,
Thanks for the feedback, the wrap is our "Crazy Bob" and is actually under review for deletion from the menu as we use the same base mix for our Curried chicken salad. The "Works" sandwich is another item that seems to not have a direction and your viewpoint is appreciated. We keep the Works for those that are really hungry as it contains 3/4 of a pound of meat. I would suggest our Cuban if you truly like flavors in a sandwich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East End Deli also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to East End Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing