We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Timbers Restaurant and Fish Market
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

was bad, food was good. Took a while to get our food, but when it did come it was delishous. Over all not bad.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NHpinkhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    845
    529
    231
    71
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A bit dissappointing”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a popular restaurant on Sanibel Island, but there are better. Pluses are selection of local fresh fish and preparation alternatives. But the food was pretty average except for the rose fish (which I'd never heard of). I do not recommend the pompano. There is better grouper and snapper on the island. Service was good. If you want to try different seafood, the selection is good and they'll prepare it to your liking. But don't expect it to be over the top.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrillMaster47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va. Beach
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 + star rating”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

That atmosphere is so fun. I love all the small details they added. The food yum yum yum. I had the crab legs. I am a Virginia beach kid and every time we go out to dinner I always order the crab legs so let me tell you about these crab legs. They are huge HUGE. The best I have ever had and the chef even split the legs. This chef know what they are going that was a huge help since the legs where over in an inch thick. They where so good. They staff has been so nice and helpful. Also the chef I hope teaches others because he or she is an awesome cook.

Helpful?
Thank Megs687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimbersofSanibel, Manager at Timbers Restaurant and Fish Market, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Stop for Seafood”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We are repeat customers and having visited here off and on for many years have never had a bad meal. Greeted warmly and seated quickly, Kristen our server was quick to bring menu's and take drink orders. My wife and I ordered the Bacon Wrapped Shrimp with rice and vegies and our niece had a chicken/penne pasta dish. Before the main dishes were served we were served fresh out of the oven bread aling with fresh salads.

Main courses were served in a timely fashion, warm and tasty, drinks refilled without being asked. Each of the three of us enjoyed three different desserts from the menu, all of which were generous and very good. Ask for Kristen, she took good care of us.

The restaurant itself is nice to visit, well appointed with various nautical/fishing decorations along with a rare overhead fan system from back in the 30's. Nice atmosphere, nice staff and a nice place to take anyone, family or couples. We'll be back the next time we visit Sanibel, Fl.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and i ordered the Mahi Mahi and were very disappointed the last time we ate there. We have had great dishes there in the past but this time the fish was undercooked. We will give them another chance next time on the island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jchap1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbers Restaurant and Fish Market also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Timbers Restaurant and Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing