We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food okay”
Review of Blue Giraffe

Blue Giraffe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Blue Giraffe is the place to experience casual island dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven days a week from 7am to close. Dine outside in the garden atmosphere of Periwinkle Place or inside at hand-painted tables, inspired by local artists. Our wide-ranging menu is full of fresh and local seafood, island-renowned chowders, custom sandwiches and burgers, refreshing salads, mouth-watering steak and vegetarian options. Unwind at our full liquor bar, sipping on a glass of wine, a frosty draft, bottled beer or one of our signature frozen drinks. As for dessert, indulge in hand-dipped Edy's Grand Ice Cream, or a rich cappuccino. You won't be able to get enough of our delicious island-inspired food, all in a friendly, tropical setting.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food okay”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The service was good and we didn't have to wait in line but the food was just okay. The waitress recommended the scampi and it was too rich. About a pound of butter and some cheese. Not crazy about cheese with shrimp.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank charliesmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    388
    268
    86
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
camino
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“mislead”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I'm not one to complain I looked up blue giraffe and it had great reviews for kids and as a mom of a one year and two year old I was happy to see this so we went twice once for lunch and another for breakfast. This review is not to say this place is horrible I just don't feel the food and mostly the service is worth the price to give u an idea our group was four adults and two little ones for breakfast we ordered four meals and two kids meals coffee and juice with coffee and juice for three refills. Our Bill was $93.87 and they added a 18% tip to the bill our food was cold with out taste and English muffins Burnt to a crisp very unfriendly service with long periods of no one around to even ask for ketchup or napkins. Our lunch experience was not as bad but the hostess seemed to be pretty mad that we interrupted her lunch to seat us other than that our lunch was good fish and chips were fantastic but unfortunately the service was just not there our server was hardly around and food was dropped off and that was that we had to get up and go to the front desk to pay and yet again disrupted the hostess.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kelie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This long-time Sanibel fixture is a pleasant place to eat. Not the quietest place to eat but the food makes up for most of the other issues. Stroll around the shoppes before or after dining. There is nice outside seating and in general a good island experience. Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“would go back!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were shopping in the place this is located in and decided to go in for a light dinner. Ordered the tomato and mozzarella salad, was very good. And then the other diners had loaded baked potato soup, this was good but very thick. Dessert was awesome, the key lime pie was really good and the coconut cake was awesome. The service was good. This is a place that we would go back to as the food was good, the prices were kinda high but not really for the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Little Surprise”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We asked if we could sit on the patio and while it was pleasantly busy, they were able to seat us. They were very friendly and the food was very good. My son tried the Hawaiian Burger and said it was the best burger he ever tasted. This was the best place we ate while we were in Sanibel. It sits in the middle of a small spread out open area shopping mall. Very clean, very fun. Nice menu with something for everyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandboxHockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Giraffe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blue Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing