We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrimp....”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille is the place to find the best Caribbean flavors on Sanibel Island and surrounding areas! It is named after the character from author Randy Wayne White's best-selling book series and is a favorite dining spot for travelers from all over the world as well as a favorite for the locals looking for great food and atmosphere!
Reviewed August 29, 2014

I never get past the Dinkin's Bay Boil. The shrimp are very messy to eat, but this is the real deal! Old Bay seasoning, butter, shrimp. Nothing fancy, just the best! May have to go back right now!

1  Thank Lydia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,801 - 2,805 of 4,786 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

If you like your food especially your fish spicy, please go here. They are doing a great job. However if you are like I am, coming from a place were fish is always available, fish should taste like fish, not like spice. Anyway, otherwise their beer is ok, nothing great.
Hope you enjoy the ride to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sibylla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We ate here the last day of our vacation a big disappointment. So many good eateries around that you would waste your time eating here. Food less than average. Wait staff ok but just ok. Too expensive for what you get. Houlahans blows this place away if you catch my drift. Ohh well lesson learned. Will never return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

I am sincerely sorry that your experience fell short of our standards. We take great pride in customer service and satisfaction. I can only hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to inform us on what is going on, so that we can take the proper measures to resolve these issues. It's people like you that help us improve by providing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I visit Sanibel annually and make a point to stop by Doc Ford's on Sanibel to have the Yucatan Shrimp and Beach Bread. As usual, I was not disaapointed. The Corona was ice cold and the shrimp was spicy, but not too spicy.

2  Thank CoquinaGirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in for dinner on a Monday night in August. Like most of the other restaurants we visited it was busy but there was no wait. We ordered the shrimp quinoa salad and fried shrimp. The shrimp quinoa salad was a surprise find and good but didn't come with the mixed vegetables as advertised. The disappointment was the fried shrimp which were fairly tough. It seemed liked they were overcooked since the shrimp in the salad were perfect. The homemade key lime pie brought the average back up as it was delicious. Definitely worth a try.

Thank Mubbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing