We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite on Sanibel”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille is the place to find the best Caribbean flavors on Sanibel Island and surrounding areas! It is named after the character from author Randy Wayne White's best-selling book series and is a favorite dining spot for travelers from all over the world as well as a favorite for the locals looking for great food and atmosphere!
Morristown, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Favorite on Sanibel”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Doc Ford's is our number one Sanibel restaurant. We go there year after year and have never been disappointed. Simply the best!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,304
    1,434
    483
    144
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best mussels ever”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a fun visit to Doc Ford's for an early light dinner Sunday night. Great spot, yummy Margarita and simply the best mussels I have ever had! My parents loved the raw oysters, and we shared some Yucatan shrimp, which was also delicious- looking forward to my next visit!

Helpful?
Thank family1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I had heard the mojitos and grouper sandwich were special. I didn't find that to be the case at all. In fact, the mojito was one of the worst i ever had. Not enough mint or rum. The grouper sandwich was fine, just nothing special. cip's is way better. We tried the bread appetizer and i am still wondering what makes that so famous. Yes, the combo of cheeses was good, but the bread itself tasted like a piece of Stouffers frozen french bread pizza. However, the key lime pie was pretty darn good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerfromatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
I am sincerely sorry that your experience fell short of our standards. We take great pride in customer service and satisfaction. I can only hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to inform us on what is going on, so that we can take the proper measures to resolve these issues. It's people like you that help us improve by providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Nice ambiance, great food! The clam chowder was to die for.Really feels like Florida. Great spot on Sanibel Island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sun_seeker420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“May be best to go early in the day”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Yesterday we stopped by Doc Ford's after touring the J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge. My husband ordered fried shrimp and I ordered grouper. His shrimp looked so good I had to try a bite and it was perfect. Today, we arrived later in the day and I ordered the shrimp but it was not the same. Believe they were in a hurry to cook it as it was over cooked and the crust was almost burned. Very disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seniOrlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
I am sincerely sorry that your experience fell short of our standards. We take great pride in customer service and satisfaction. I can only hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to inform us on what is going on, so that we can take the proper measures to resolve these issues. It's people like you that help us improve by providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing