We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food, really good service.”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille is the place to find the best Caribbean flavors on Sanibel Island and surrounding areas! It is named after the character from author Randy Wayne White's best-selling book series and is a favorite dining spot for travelers from all over the world as well as a favorite for the locals looking for great food and atmosphere!
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really good food, really good service.”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We are back in Minnesota today, and I'm dreaming about the fish tacos I had here last night! Seriously good food. The service was prompt, friendly and attentive, even the bus boy was impressive- on the ball with everything you might need or want.
The menu has lots of choices, both seafood and meat. Prices were moderate and we felt of very good value given the excellent food.
If you are interested in a rum cocktail, there is quite a selection.
My husband, who is sort of a key lime pie snob, enjoyed a piece and pronounced it excellent.
If you are not staying on Sanibel, it is a very nice ride to the restaurant. Time it right, and you can watch the sun go down on the causeway on the drive back.
We will certainly return here the next time we visit the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,253
    1,417
    475
    142
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and watch the games”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We love this place. Since we started going to Sanibel, Doc Fords has been a tradition. The food is out of this world good! The atmosphere is wonderful and makes you feel like you are at home. We go there to watch college football games and NFL games. It is so much fun to see everyone cheering for all their teams. GO BUCKS!!!! Just a great place to be.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GJHAYNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Busy Restaurant”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

A wide variety of beers and cocktails. They specialize in seafood. Their grouper sandwiches are great. Very noisy unless you sit on the patio.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlTrotter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a party of 6 adults. Between all of us we ordered everything from salads to full meals. I had the tropical salad with shrimp. It was great! Everything was fresh. The guys ordered 24 oysters. They were big. They loved them. Staff was very friendly. Great place to eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smile002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best meal so far!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Three for three meals at the table and less expensive then other meals. Cedar planked salmon, yucatan shrimp and fish sandwiches and drinks at a reasonable price. Heaters on the outside patio insured we stayed warm and could enjoy the evening. Enjoyed the books and other 'Doc Ford' memorabilia, one of my favorite series. First trip to Sanibel, and definitely recommend Doc Fords.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing