We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal at a good price”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille is the place to find the best Caribbean flavors on Sanibel Island and surrounding areas! It is named after the character from author Randy Wayne White's best-selling book series and is a favorite dining spot for travelers from all over the world as well as a favorite for the locals looking for great food and atmosphere!
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was a lovely meal. Plenty of variety on the menu both meat and fish. Service was prompt. Food was served hot. The gratin potatoes I had probably would have benefitted for a little less cheese and a bit more sauce. But it was still nice. This was one of the better meals I have had this holiday. The salmon was lovely and moist and my sons steak was lively. The key lime pie was,out of this world The only one I have ever had better was one we had in key west. This was a very close second. Nice atmosphere excellent service. My son tried 2 different beers these were good value. I had a non alcoholic fruit drink which was a disappointment and over priced. The whole bill for 3 drink 3 mains and one sweet was just over $100 with tax. The cheapest meal this holiday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SusanSutcliffe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,980 - 2,984 of 4,725 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere and nice server. Good food, but nothing amazing. A little overpriced for its worth though. Good place to go after the beach!

Thank Kaseyyyy_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Good food, great service. We had the clam chowder (very good) and seafood paella . . . it was enough food that we could have split one for the two of us. It was delicious! We bought two of Randy White's paperback books about Doc Ford and the author happened to be there that night and was gracious enough to sign them for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Eaten at all 3 Doc's many times, always great. Met Randy Wayne White several times at the bar eating there. Never had Yucantan shrimp there before... peel and eat, sounded messy. Sean our waiter said I really should try them. Messy, yes, wonderful Oh Ya !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrs_travelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Sanibel and look forward to seeing you again! Also remember to check out our other locations on Fort Myers Beach and Captiva Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The server was helpful and attentive but the food was just OK. We've come to lower our expectations from the restaurants on the island because no matter what the reviews say, we've found that essentially the food at the mid-priced restaurants in average at best. We usually can find something that exceeds our expectations (like the key lime pie here...my husband liked it), but generally we leave underwhelmed. I had the Doc Ford's fish sandwich. It was fine, but it does come with cole slaw on the sandwich (and not described that way on the menu). The same is true of the pulled pork sandwich (and our son didn't like cole slaw on the sandwich). One of our guests liked the shrimp. My husband's shrimp and grits was "decent but over seasoned." Not a bad food experience but nothing to share to entice someone to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MidwestRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

I am sincerely sorry that your experience fell short of our standards. We take great pride in customer service and satisfaction. I can only hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to inform us on what is going, so that we can take the proper measures to resolve these issues. It's people like you that help us improve by providing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing