We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Visit at good one” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille is the place to find the best Caribbean flavors on Sanibel Island and surrounding areas! It is named after the character from author Randy Wayne White's best-selling book series and is a favorite dining spot for travelers from all over the world as well as a favorite for the locals looking for great food and atmosphere!
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Visit at good one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was our first visit. I read so much about the Yucatan Shrimp that I had to come and try them. We had a short wait on a Friday evening even though they were busy. Good food, good service, great environment!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cutter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,142
    1,359
    458
    136
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ocean,nj
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fun place for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had just arrived on Sanibel and wanted to relax and decided to go to Doc Fords. What a fun place; very popular but had a short wait on a Saturday night. Great selection of dinners and a great atmosphere. Good service too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cook1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant w/Southwest Florida Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We enjoyed our Doc Ford's Sanibel lunch so much that we stopped by for a second time during our seven day Sanibel Island stay. Try the salmon entrée or the tropical salad. The restaurant has a relaxing, old southwest Florida feel. Even bought the first Doc Ford series novel - Sanibel Flats following our visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVisitor30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Another fine visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Just awesome. I have no idea where the naysayers are eating - perhaps the nearby Hess Station? Who knows... The Yucatan Shrimp is an uh-mazing starter and the Paella is fantastic. The wife loves the fruity island drink - The Sanibel Sunset. Sure its a little loud but hey - kick up your heels and live a little! We have never had a bad meal and with numerous visits. Do yourself a favor and give it a whirl.

Helpful?
1 Thank MountainMan30523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Gluten-free Options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Dining out is an issue since I was diagnosed with Celiac's disease. Doc Ford's has a bunch of amazing menu choices. Really the best meal I have had since I arrived in Florida. Very busy, but service was great. Fun atmosphere. Thank you Doc Ford's!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ktm3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing