We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Grouper Sanwiches”
Review of Lazy Flamingo II

Lazy Flamingo II
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Sanibel, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Grouper Sanwiches”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A must do for any vacationer. Oysters on the half shell, my husband's favorite ..
They serve something called THE POT - 2 doz. oysters or clams or combo, steamed in beer with their own spice combo.
Peel and Eat Shrimp is always a good choice as well as Conch or Clam Chowder.
The Grouper can be ordered as a Sandwich (our family favorite) or platter. Fried or Mesquite grilled,and the Spicy French fries are the best on the Island.
One of the fairly new offerings is Mussels Marinara and Conch fritters. If you are a seafood fan
Make sure this restaurant is on your list - menu for children as well.
If you are not a seafood fan, They serve one of the best burgers! also hot wings and a great Caesar salad! Don't skip the Key Lime pie or Daily dessert special.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    331
    127
    44
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“off the beaten path”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great bar food and seafood. Plenty of TV's to watch games. Fish tank for the kids. Bookstore with local favorites to choose from.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CW2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Took our kids to the Lazy Flamingo as it was a favorite place of ours and this was the first trip for the kids at Sanibel. This lunch time experience was not the greatest and was a disappointment. Service was slow and it wasn't very busy. The kids both ordered kids meals and no frisbees! The food came out in a basket. The kids PB&J is not a sandwich, but is an Uncrustable. Not worth the price you pay for the meal. The wings we ordered were lousy. The conch fritters we had were overcooked. The waitress had no attentive to us either. Think we will skip the Flamingo next trip! For the money we spent on lunch it was not worth. Lousy!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel
Level Contributor
332 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lazy flamingo”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch with kids. Kids are off the kids menu and it was good. Frisbees and snack for them in their meals. The beer was cold and the food was good. Had shrimp and wings. Service was good as well. No complaints. Good place for kids

Helpful?
Thank craig t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average Bar fare”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We went here with our kids while on a vacation to Sanibel, mostly because of the kids meals coming on the frisbees and the take-home kids cups. We thought the kids would get a kick out of that, and they did.

The food was average at best. Kids both had the PB&J, and they got the Uncrustables that you can buy at the store. For the price it sure would be nice to have hand-made sandwiches, but the kids ate them all. The kids also enjoyed the oreos that came with them and the chips. I had the mesquite-grilled chicken caesar salad and found the chicken to be very dry and the lettuce was wilted. Wife had the smoked fish and it was just ok.

We were also seated at a table right next to the entrance, so when they started to get busy the folks sitting in the tall chairs by the entrance were constantly bumping our seats. That made the second half of our meal fairly unpleasant.

Our impression was that it was a typical bar/restaurant that didn't offer anything extraordinary.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lobo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Flamingo II also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lazy Flamingo II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing