We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, reasonable place on Sanibel for GOOD seafood (and other bar munchies)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Flamingo II

Lazy Flamingo II
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ocala FL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent, reasonable place on Sanibel for GOOD seafood (and other bar munchies)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We really enjoyed the conch chowder (a bit spicy - so you know), conch fritters, fried seafood, and the grouper sandwich. The team waiting on us was excellent. We sat outside in the afternoon The porch outside is non-smoking!!!!! (Thanks!) - a real plus for us.Great for family, couples, sports fans inside (there's even a screen outside but we managed to ignore it). Great spot for eating good food and watching the Sanibel bike riders. Right next door to the Dairy Queen if you need family desserts ...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scoutly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    312
    123
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The food was OK, but was my least favorite meal of the week. Had to wait around 15 minutes for a table, which was the only time we had to wait for a table our entire stay in Sanibel (party of 4). Prices were decent. Ordered fried shrimp, got 6 shrimp and a basket full of fries. The food was not bad, and the service was pretty good, but compared to our experience at other restaurants, this one was kind of a let down.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DawgFan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Grilled Grouper Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The mesquite grilled grouper here is terrific, and the service is cheerful and brisk. Very good for families.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Disposable plastic plates and cutlery? Had the conch fritters, they were too doughy and not a lot of conch. The hot pot with clams and oysters were just ok. I did like the dead parrot wings, very spicy and tasty sauce, but the wings could have been a bit more cooked. Garlic bread was pretty typical. Wine list is short but decent. Service was good and friendly. Much prefer the Lazy cow for this calibre of restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank walkabout101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you're coming from the bike path, you have to cross the street with no cross walk, but it is worth it. We parked our bikes at the bike rack and were promptly seated in their outdoor covered patio. They have a good selection of beers, recommend the Key West. The grill mahi was EXCELLENT. They really know how to grill fish. My companion's fried grouper was very good as well. Fries were wonderful and they have malt vinegar to accompany. Pleasant atmosphere, good service, good food. Recommend they expand their outdoor patio.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank homemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Flamingo II also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lazy Flamingo II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing