We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch salad”

Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Okemos, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice lunch salad”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I would recommend the grouper caesar salad. There were a variety of ways the grouper could be prepared and the helpful server gave me very good advice regarding which to choose (mesquite grilled, the way everyone who works there has it!). It is also available as a sandwich but I prefer salads. Everyone else in my party seemed to enjoy their lunches as well. My husband definitely found the lobster salad to his liking. I am sure this would be a great place to have dinner as well.
My only criticism of Dot's is all the throwaway serveware and styrofoam!! I haven't had coffee in a styrofoam cup in...I can't remember when. My daughters were served their hot soups in styrofoam soup cups. Yuck! That stuff is nasty and it degrades when hot things are in them such that we're digesting it along with our meals/drinks. I would strongly suggest Dot's invest in some ceramic serving pieces and a dishwasher to make the meal more environmentally friendly and pleasant for diners!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    736
    519
    174
    70
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great environment, good food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Located in Ireland's Marina this place is a little gem. Lots of choice and a great selection of seafood. The service is friendly and informal and as usual portions are generous and very much like home cooking.our table had sword fish, coconut shrimp, filet mignon and lobster. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank dwim1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
2 reviews
“Good Food”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Peal and eat shrimp were a great appetizer. It was served with fruit and yogurt which seemed odd but was a good pairing. We had the Stone Crab Claw special and blackened Grouper. Both were served with mixed veggies, potato croquet (delicious) and the fruit and yogurt in a chocolate shell. Grouper was blackened but tasted like it was grilled over Mesquite. Key lime pie is a must have!

Meal was a little pricey but portion size was large and the food very tasty. Overall I would make a future trip here if I was in Sanibel.

Helpful?
Thank Racerrob2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredehol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had all of the following. Fried oyster sandwich came heaped with sweet and succulent oysters. Grilled grouper sandwich was nicely done. Fried shrimp and coconut shrimp platters nicely cooked with generous proportions.

Gets crowded, so get there before noon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Food!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great Lunch and even better Pie! I wouldn't leave the island with out having the Key Lime Pie. Fish is fresh and the home made chips are tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing