We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good high-quality food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon

Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good high-quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We got take-out for lunch one day. We ordered two bowls of clam chowder, the curried lobster salad, and a tuna melt. The soups were the thick new england style and very good. The lobster salad was of good quality and had large chunks of fresh lobster, but I found it a bit on the spicy side. (I am not at all good with spicy and wasn't expecting it.) It was fresh and had good flavor except for the surprise heat, so if you are eating in and a bit sensitive you might want to ask to sample it first. The tuna melt was very good and came with some nice homemade chips on the side. Both entrees came with a good amount of fruit in the side.

We will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vaptek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    495
    161
    67
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places to eat in Sanibel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch whilst dodging a thunderstorm and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. I had the lobster salad which was excellent and there are good views over the marina towards the Causeway. Our server was very friendly and helpful. This was our second visit and it is now one of our must do things when in Sanibel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grahamarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartville, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We ate here on a warm July evening and sat on the patio. It was the perfect setting for a great dinner. Tasty fried seafood and nice salads. I would definitely recommend coming here on your trip to Sanibel!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlmatheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Myers
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had a late lunch here today (7/14) and service and food were very good. We have eaten here many times over the years and this place never disappoints.

Today we dined with friends and split the crab meatballs and calamari for appetizers; both were wonderful. For entrées we had the fried grouper sandwich, lobster salad plate with fresh fruit, mahi sandwich, and the mesquite grilled grouper Caesar salad. All were excellently prepared. Service was timely and all the staff friendly.

We have been here closer to the noon hour and it has been crowded, but our wait times have never been excessive and the food quality has never suffered. Pull up a chair, watch the boats and yachts at the marina, and have some great seafood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ft_MyersFrankieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and charming atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Sanibel now for 4 years and have our list of "usual" restaurants that we like to go to. We went to this place at a recommendation of another "Sanibel-ite" and we are so glad we did! The place doesn't look like much but it sits at the end of the marina with either inside or outside dining. I had the Spinach Boursin Grouper and my boyfriend had the Walnut Honey Crusted Grouper. It was difficult to say which one I liked better! Both had an awesome potato croquette with some fruit in a chocolate shell shaped bowl. We are so glad we found this place and will be on our list of "regulars"!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PJGerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing