We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandma Dots Restaurant and Marina”

Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
LaSalle, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grandma Dots Restaurant and Marina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went for lunch , had to wait but no big deal went around back and bought two beers from the marina store , sat down and watched the boats go by!
I had a chicken sandwich which was very tasty. My husband had the chowder and loved it ! He also had the fish sandwich and was impressed. My fussy daughter had the usual chicken strips but it came with and orchid - which , SHE ATE!!
The sun was shining , lots of activity - a god place to lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Lizc004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    500
    164
    68
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Key lime pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Besides the pie, try the signature Grouper sandwich. This is a very busy eatery, so plan on cooling your heels till they call your name. Well worth it, though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old Florida Never Tasted Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The name Sanibel says it all...classic Florida. Real beaches with sea life galore, no para-sailing but lots of bike riding. And of course, Gramma Dot's, the delightful restaurant and marina near lighthouse beach. The fried clams are excellent but you MUST save room for the key lime pie. The trouble is, you'll never have better so if you're there for a few days, I'd suggest buying a whole pie or coming back for more. Also, the staff has been there forever and really know how to take care of you, including head waitress Jane, who recognizes me and my family every year, even through the countless thousands of folks she sees. Another treat is to go for lunch, or even duck into the ship's store for a beer and walk the docks checking out the big boats and eyeing one for yourself. Regardless of what you do at 'Dot's' a trip to Sanibel is never complete without a visit to Dot's so make sure to go and start your lifetime of visits soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adguy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

A great location, with lots of amazing ships to look at!! The food was good, the service was good- We were very pleased with our stop there!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerriwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“customer is not first”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Five of us arrived for lunch. They offered us a tiny table that was barely for four, next to a door that they use to access outside tables. We asked for the table next to us (a slightly bigger table) but were told that it was for a table for six, and told with attitude that we could go out into the parking lot and wait for another table if we didn't want this one. Also, "we seat five at this table all the time". All five of us were shocked about that, the table was so small. We took the table, one of us having to sit on the corner, not having a real place setting, just the corner of the table, getting bumped constantly by servers going outside. We were completely cramped but we sucked it up, being the good midwesterners we are. The food was "ok" but the service and attitude of the staff was appalling. The girl who seats everyone, who told us we could go back to the parking lot if we didn't like the table, turned away when we left, when you would expect a "thanks for coming". Nasty attitude from her and the server too. Grandma Dot's, you just lost five important customers, and we will pass on your attitude to all our friends too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idmomChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing