We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot, but not for food”

Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Spot, but not for food”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Ordered their grouper basket which arrived so dry it was hardly edible. The service was good and the restaurant is cozy and in a pretty place right on the water, but don't go for the food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    729
    514
    171
    70
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
736 reviews
578 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“Scenic marina view”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stopped one afternoon for a drink and some snacks. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Oysters were excellent. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Mmmm delicious burgers and fries!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We snagged some take out from Gramma Dot's after our adventure on the Sanibel Thriller and it was delicious. We bought burgers with their homemade chips and a side of fries and none of us could even finish our burger it was so large and delicious. The three of us shared the fries and we were stuffed. We all shared our chips with the rest of our party who also ate their fill!

Quaint atmosphere and easy to find a seat as long as your party size isn't over four. Great variety on the menu and lots of fresh seafood from which to choose.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanibel
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The food is always good. I hardly ever order fried anything, but the fried shrimp is just so good.
The batter is light and the shrimp so tasty.
Our friend had fried oysters and he raved about his meal.
Our other friend enjoyed the coconut shrimp.
The restaurant is small and you may wait, but if you can, I think you will enjoy the dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best fish!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Any fish you order will be GREAT! Love the homemade chips plus the lovely fruit to round out the meal. Whole family loves it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TraditionFlorida2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gramma Dot's Seaside Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing