We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for children.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Matzaluna

Matzaluna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for children.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The food at Matzaluna is average- with the exception of the pizza which is both a good value and tasty (not too greasy). The atmosphere for young children is great and this keeps us coming back year after year.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank slrohde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    407
    166
    85
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unimpressed and never returning.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Arriving at Matzaluna I was greeted by a hostess texting on her cell phone. After quickly hiding it she escorted me to a booth. The table was unsanitary and unclean. Why would she seat my husband and I at a dirty table? Probably because she was to busy texting to clean the table.

It took an absurd amount of time to receive our drinks after ordering them from a young man. I asked for a suggestion for entrees and he clearly wasn't excited about his job.

The food was horrible. The service was horrible. The restaurant was dirty. The bathrooms were disgusting.

Avoid this restaurant at all costs.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonieblu47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pre-made food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have eaten here about six times. Each time I had a bad experience. The front desk is run by very young people with few social skills. The restaurant attracts diners with children who are often noisy. The acoustics are bad here so it will be loud. You can draw and play games on the paper table cloths with crayons they provide. Each time I visit the food is sloppily made, bland, and unremarkable. I ordered the Italian hors de oeuvres plate. It was obviously made earlier in the day and sat in the refrigerator. The largest item on the plate was a big pile of finely chopped tomato with little flavor. The Italian cheese stuck to the plate. My mothers spaghetti sauce had little flavor. The alcoholic specialty drinks are good. They have a nice bar.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The atmosphere when you walk in is inviting and friendly. The food was very good and the service was good as well. The waitress was friendly and helpful. We wanted to return before our trip ended and never had the chance. Will return in the future!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouLou88-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good everytime I return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a great place for a good Italian meal. I visit every year while on Sanibel. I simply love this place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matzaluna also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matzaluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing