We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian, Good service”
Review of Matzaluna

Matzaluna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Italian, Good service”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were seated immediately and our server was well versed in the menu. Fast service! Highly recommend the garlic spread (but don't let them put a lot of olive oil on it unless you REALLY like olive oil). I would've preferred it without the oil, but it was done before I knew better. We had the special bbq chicken pizza. it is a very thin crust pizza, a bit crispy. But really tasty. Not sure if it is supposed to be a single serving (we shared). I think a little big for a single serving and a little small for sharing. Good beer selections, the server was knowledgeable on them. Wish this place was open for lunch, I think they'd do very well in this space. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank homemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    417
    171
    89
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Iowa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were quickly seated and the wait staff was very friendly. The fresh bread with EVOO and spices was delicious. My husband had the pizza and loved it. I requested the chicken primavera but with gnocchi instead and this was no problem. It was very good.
When we come back we will go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlg919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Mangia!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We always visit at least once during our week's stay: homemade quality food, and great pizza. If you like garlic try the garlic spread appetizer. I put that stuff on everything!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
143 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Captiva Italian”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Highly recommended by friends, we gave it a shot. We were seated right away, and Abby took good care of us. My red snapper was decent but certainly not outstanding. My wife truly liked her primavera pizza. Calamari = excellent; their sangria was among the best. Tiramisu was average. The main disadvantage - their highly touted salmon dish was made using farmed salmon. Retrospectively, we wish Abby had told us she added 18% to our six party bill - our fault for not noticing...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orangegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
230 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Food and Superb Crab Bisque!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have eaten at Matzaluna three times in the past week. Each time we were greeted and seated immediately. The hostess has been very friendly and pleasant, our three different waitresses have been friendly, helpful, and efficient (Kim, Jennifer, Abbie). The fresh bread with EVOO and spices has been delicious. The varieties of beers has been excellent- we sampled a flight of four several times. The crab bisque has been sensational, smooth, creamy, plenty of crab and sherry-just delicious. Chicken and grouper Puttanesca have been delicious with great portions. Chicken cacciatore was good and filling. Shrimp Milano was light and excellent. Angel hair with pomodoro or bolognese were both very good. Wood fired pizzas were light and fresh-I liked the Angelo with pepperoni, sausage, and 4 cheeses. It is our go to Italian on Sanibel now.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillP1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matzaluna also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matzaluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing