We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service in clean relaxed atmosphere.”
Review of The Sandbar

The Sandbar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since opening in 2013, The Sandbar has become known for its incredibly fresh seafood and choice cuts of beef and pork. We take great pride in having the best service staff on the islands.
Marrietta ga,
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service in clean relaxed atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

One of newer restaurants on island. Not very busy on night we dined there and service was prompt and friendly. Came into contact with three employees during our dinner . each with a smile on their face and friendly demeanor. Not a lot of selections to choose from but the ones we chose were properly prepared and excellent. Waitress took care of our every need .A very good dining experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank godawgs267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    277
    67
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had one night on Sanibel Island and picked The Sandbar based on others reviews. Our experience here was fabulous. We each had fish dishes and they were cooked to perfection. The waitstaff was very accommodating and eager to answer questions. If we ever get back to Sanibel Island that will be one of our first stops. Thanks for a great meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutPool_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Fast service, generous wine and food portions.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We come to Sanibel every Fall and try different restaurants every year. This restaurant has been through a number of owners but we're very pleased with The Sanbar. They served delicious bread with oil and balsamic vinegar to start. My mother in law and I ordered wine and received generous portions. I ordered the the crab cakes and again it was a generous portion and some of the best crab cakes I have ever tasted. I would definitely recommend!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Everything cooked to perfection”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I ordered the mixed grill...grouper, scallops and shrimp...there was nothing left on my plate. Mt husband had the seafood stew...mussels, shrimp, scallops and grouper. This dish was cooked with fresh ingredients and was wonderful. The bread was superb, service was the best and the interior was bright and clean. It was an old house at one time and had a lot of rehab. The restaurant should be on your list and should not be missed!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well prepared seafood”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We eat at the Sandbar every couple months and have never been disappointed. The dishes are well conceived and prepared. It's tucked away on West Gulf Drive so Island visitors might pass it by without giving it notice. It should be a go to if you're looking for well prepared fish and seafood, not the over-breaded and deep fried kind.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrittSBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandbar also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing