We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast service, generous wine and food portions.”
Review of The Sandbar

The Sandbar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $47
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Since opening in 2013, The Sandbar has become known for its incredibly fresh seafood and choice cuts of beef and pork. We take great pride in having the best service staff on the islands.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Fast service, generous wine and food portions.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We come to Sanibel every Fall and try different restaurants every year. This restaurant has been through a number of owners but we're very pleased with The Sanbar. They served delicious bread with oil and balsamic vinegar to start. My mother in law and I ordered wine and received generous portions. I ordered the the crab cakes and again it was a generous portion and some of the best crab cakes I have ever tasted. I would definitely recommend!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    271
    65
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
230 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Everything cooked to perfection”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I ordered the mixed grill...grouper, scallops and shrimp...there was nothing left on my plate. Mt husband had the seafood stew...mussels, shrimp, scallops and grouper. This dish was cooked with fresh ingredients and was wonderful. The bread was superb, service was the best and the interior was bright and clean. It was an old house at one time and had a lot of rehab. The restaurant should be on your list and should not be missed!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well prepared seafood”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We eat at the Sandbar every couple months and have never been disappointed. The dishes are well conceived and prepared. It's tucked away on West Gulf Drive so Island visitors might pass it by without giving it notice. It should be a go to if you're looking for well prepared fish and seafood, not the over-breaded and deep fried kind.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrittSBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant on the island!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The food was amazing and the service the same!! The portions are very generous and the staff very friendly. We felt like family. Would highly recommend every time you visit! Almost forgot to mention how clean the entire place is :).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodiehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
2 reviews
“Excellent meal... Huge portions”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had dinner on a Saturday night. Crab Bisque was to die for. I had macadamia encrusted Grouper. It was awesome and a huge portion. The wait staff and hostess were very helpful and pleasant. The restaurant was full, yet service was great and not a long wait at all. After dinner I was completely stuffed. I made room for Creme Brule which was excellent. The entire experience was so great... we came back the next day.... and had another great meal with Creme Brule to follow

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandbar also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing