We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing”
Review of The Sandbar

The Sandbar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since opening in 2013, The Sandbar has become known for its incredibly fresh seafood and choice cuts of beef and pork. We take great pride in having the best service staff on the islands.
New Baden, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our vacation on Sanibel Island, and I had to post this review. The Sandbar is by far one of the best restaurants on the island. The Macadamia Crusted Grouper and Mixed Grill were amazing!! The grouper was the freshest and most flavorful of any grouper dish we had during our stay. The service was excellent, and the house specialty margarita is now on my top 5 list of best margaritas ever. Brian, keep up the great work.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    278
    67
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too Good To Pass Up”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Yesterday four of us had one of the best dinners ever. Surely the best ever on Sanibel Island. Two of the diners had the sirloin steak, one had the coconut shrimp and I had the Filet Mignon. All of the steaks could almost be cut with forks and the side sauces with the shrimp made it special. Another plus was that the bartender knew how to make perfect Southern Comfort Old Fashions. I highly recommend, whether a local or tourist, that you dine at this fine restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil2594023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First visit of many more!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful experience! First time visiting this restaurant , looking forward to returning! Crab bisque, salads, appetizers and entrees including scallops, macadamia crusted grouper, bronzed mixed seafood grill...all very good! Fish filleted to order by the owner. Wait staff attentive. Wish this restaurant much success! Don't think they will have any problem achieving it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonnie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is not #11- get here before people realize it is underrated”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to Sandbar based in part on reviews but also because was close to our lodging.
Place just opened six months ago, but has clearly reached its stride already.
Wine list is very solid and MUCH more reasonable than most.

Everything we tried, from the crab bisque to the crab cakes to the vegetable spring rolls, was excellent.

Lot of places to try in Sanibel, but we will be back this week at least once if not more

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice hidden treasure!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is away from the rest of the other restaurants but it is definitely one you need to go find! The food was amazing!! They brought out bread and this stuff to dip it in (you got to do that) then we moved on to the boom boom shrimp which was excellent too. My hubby got the ribs and I got the crabs cakes and we were both very impressed with both!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmJones30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandbar also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing