We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice breakfast”

Normandie Seaside Pub
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Normandie is a casual family restaurant on property,we server on of the best breakfast on the island from 8 am to 11:30, lunch inside the restaurant or at our pool bar with the most incredible view of the gulf from 11:30 to 3:30 ( 2:30 inside) and dinner from 5:00 pm to 9 pm. the Normandie is the best kept secret on the island !!
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were staying at the hotel and had breakfast on a rainy day. Nice old fashioned space with good service and tasty food. I especially liked the coconut French Toast.

Thank MGreene16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Normandie Seaside Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 189 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

This place is a great combination of excellent food and fine accommodating service. We ate there several times and were never disappointed.

Thank BFJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent one night at the West Wind Inn. After a long bike tour, we asked ourselves where to go for dinner? Not wanting to get into the car to drive around finding a place, we decided for the restaurant on the premises. We do not regret that. Everything was excellent. My wife and I are not big eaters, so we wanted to split an appetizer and a main course. Our waitress was very accommodating, dividing everything on two plates. The number one recommendation is their crab cakes appetizer. The best we ever tasted, and we are from Maryland. The grouper special was also excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cliff646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed at the West Wind Inn for the past 10 years in early January however for some reason we have never dined at the Normandie so we decided to give it a try for dinner on Saturday evening. I understand it is only open Friday and Saturday evenings between November and March.

The interior is cosy and the use of pews as benches is a nice touch.

We both had the Parmesan grouper with red pepper and spinach risotto. This came with fresh bread and dipping oil and a house salad. The bread was warm and tasty. The salad had just the right amount of dressing and was crisp.

The entree of grouper was simply delicious and melted in our mouths. The risotto was cooked perfectly and the accompanying vegetables of carrot and green beans were cooked properly - not mushy or soft.

Sadly we had no room for dessert, just a nice glass of wine to accompany the meal.

Our server (whom we are meow used to seeing at the pool bar) was great and we thoroughly enjoyed both our meal and the atmosphere in the restaurant.

This may well now become a tradition when we visit the West Wind. I can't believe we didn't try it years ago!

1  Thank Gill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We made a point of finding the Normandie for breakfast, mainly based on the good track record of T.A. reviews. Note -- you cannot see the restaurant from the road, as it is tucked in the middle of the West Wind Inn.

As others have mentioned, this seems to attract a lot of locals. It's a quirky, charming decor and seems to be themed for the French ocean liner of the same name (that, incidentally, was seized by the U.S. Navy in WWII and was almost converted for military use before it burned in a welder's accident in the New York Harbor). Kind of a curious choice for a theme on this island.

The waitstaff is fantastic -- really on top of things with a great energy and sense of humor. We loved being there. The only problem was the food. We split a fruit salad to start, hoping that the fact that we're in Florida would yield a fresh delicious beginning to breakfast. Unfortunately some of the fruit was mushy and clearly on its way out, and all of it was tasteless. Our egg dishes were fine, but nothing terrific -- you can find better versions on the island. The biscuit was really good, though, as was the coffee (which was always refilled before you needed to ask).

If the quality of the food would rise to the quality of the staff, we'd be back, but not if it remains the way it was for us on this visit.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAURENTBO19, F&B Management Team at Normandie Seaside Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for review of the Normandie Seaside Pub. We are glad you were able to find us as we are tucked away on the West Wind Inn property. We are very happy that our servers took care of you as well. So sorry to hear about our fresh fruit as it is cut and prepared fresh every morning. I hope that we were able to substitute something different to your liking. We get many compliments on our egg dishes such as our omelets and sandwiches. We hope that you will give us a try again. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to write your review in regard to your dining experience with us. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return visit.

Thank you,
F&B Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Normandie Seaside Pub also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Normandie Seaside Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing