We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”

Normandie Seaside Pub
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Normandie is a casual family restaurant on property,we server on of the best breakfast on the island from 8 am to 11:30, lunch inside the restaurant or at our pool bar with the most incredible view of the gulf from 11:30 to 3:30 ( 2:30 inside) and dinner from 5:00 pm to 9 pm. the Normandie is the best kept secret on the island !!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
477 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed at the West Wind Inn for the past 10 years in early January however for some reason we have never dined at the Normandie so we decided to give it a try for dinner on Saturday evening. I understand it is only open Friday and Saturday evenings between November and March.

The interior is cosy and the use of pews as benches is a nice touch.

We both had the Parmesan grouper with red pepper and spinach risotto. This came with fresh bread and dipping oil and a house salad. The bread was warm and tasty. The salad had just the right amount of dressing and was crisp.

The entree of grouper was simply delicious and melted in our mouths. The risotto was cooked perfectly and the accompanying vegetables of carrot and green beans were cooked properly - not mushy or soft.

Sadly we had no room for dessert, just a nice glass of wine to accompany the meal.

Our server (whom we are meow used to seeing at the pool bar) was great and we thoroughly enjoyed both our meal and the atmosphere in the restaurant.

This may well now become a tradition when we visit the West Wind. I can't believe we didn't try it years ago!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    81
    28
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
437 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Great service, so-so food”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We made a point of finding the Normandie for breakfast, mainly based on the good track record of T.A. reviews. Note -- you cannot see the restaurant from the road, as it is tucked in the middle of the West Wind Inn.

As others have mentioned, this seems to attract a lot of locals. It's a quirky, charming decor and seems to be themed for the French ocean liner of the same name (that, incidentally, was seized by the U.S. Navy in WWII and was almost converted for military use before it burned in a welder's accident in the New York Harbor). Kind of a curious choice for a theme on this island.

The waitstaff is fantastic -- really on top of things with a great energy and sense of humor. We loved being there. The only problem was the food. We split a fruit salad to start, hoping that the fact that we're in Florida would yield a fresh delicious beginning to breakfast. Unfortunately some of the fruit was mushy and clearly on its way out, and all of it was tasteless. Our egg dishes were fine, but nothing terrific -- you can find better versions on the island. The biscuit was really good, though, as was the coffee (which was always refilled before you needed to ask).

If the quality of the food would rise to the quality of the staff, we'd be back, but not if it remains the way it was for us on this visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
139 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always a great breakfast!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have been traveling to Sanibel for many years and always make it a point to have breakfast here one or more times during our visits. This quaint little seaside pub is located at the West Wind Inn on the Gulf beach. The food is always great and this visit did not disappoint. I had my favorite which is the "Lighthouse omelet". It is filled with mushrooms, spinach and Swiss cheese and served with buttermilk biscuits. It was delicious as always and as usual I consider it to be the best omelet I have ever eaten. My wife had the Eggs Benedict and was very pleased with the selection. The service was, as always, friendly and prompt. Oh yes, we will be back on our next trip to Sanibel. I can't wait!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwtilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrietta ga,
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast in relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went because of previous reviews . wasn,t sure what we were getting into upon arrival , but were very surprised by nautical décor on inside of restaurant. very pleasant and quiet, uncrowded atmosphere. we had the Italian and Greek omelets for breakfast and both were very good . Returned the next day and enjoyed the same breakfast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank godawgs267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modestly Priced, Delicious, & Grand”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Compared to the pricier options in Sanibel this place had great food for a reasonable price. It's also more mellow than the restaurants on the busier main streets. Check it out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bakejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Normandie Seaside Pub also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Normandie Seaside Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing