We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Nearby Hotels
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$339
Song of the Sea
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
$299
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$179
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$239
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
$239
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Cottages(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
$120
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveler rating
276
180
52
21
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
180
52
21
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storethe cottagesmarina sidemarina storelazy flamingosunset grilltween watersmad hatterrestaurants within walking distanceold floridablind passsmall storescreened porchbeach cottagequeen bedlaid backthe kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 553 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Our family of four spent a wonderful weekend here. We arrived after dark, and when each of us woke up and stepped onto the patio of our oceanfront room the next morning, we all said "Wow. Unit #9 is less than 100 yards to the beach, which is incredible. The rooms are like a classic beach house, nothing spectacular but fine for a family getaway. Great shelling, great fishing from the beach and million dollar views. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and how you loved the amazing view #9 has. Sanibel Island is known as the best shelling spot in the Western Hemisphere and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you visiting with us again

Rick Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I both totally enjoyed our stay at your facility. Room was clean and well maintained. The maid Ellen did a great job supplying us with towels and cleaning when needed.
We checked in with Joan and she was very helpful, friendly and gave us great info for things to do and see while we were there.

Room Tip: Cottage #16 is great for a couple, any more than that you would definitely want a different cottage.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages for your recent stay on Sanibel Island. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and found our staff helpful. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Rick Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We would like to thank the management of the Castaways for going above and beyond! We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and had reserved Unit 17 for our first trip to Sanibel. When we arrived for check-in, the management informed us they had upgraded our cottage to an oceanfront unit, in honor of our anniversary! We were thrilled by their generosity! We had a wonderful time toasting 40 years together, as we watched the sunset from our oceanfront screened-in porch. We recommend the Castaways to anyone who would like a true Sanibel experience. The cottage was clean, and while equipped with modern conveniences, was still a charming reminder of the past.

The Williams Family

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your great review and once again congratulations on your 40th wedding anniversary . We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you visit us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had a wedding there and every person on staff beside Kenny the maintenance guy was rude. The whole time I planned my wedding they gave me nothing but trouble and each phone call was a different answer. Every time I had trouble talking with staff the manager was never around to help. I tried telling her what happened after the wedding and she did not even care. The room was older but it was fine for the location. The view is what you pay for not the room. Stay else where if you do not want problems.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs1230123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

While your view is appreciated we would like to point out that every effort was made to accommodate you and your wedding party. We specialize in quiet intimate weddings but was not informed by you of the size of your party. We did receive complaints from other guests about the noise of your party, even though you were informed of Sanibels noise and lighting audience. I was informed by you that unless your wedding was refunded, you would put bad reviews on trip advisor. I am very sorry you felt this way. I am happy you liked our beautiful Sanibel Island location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in cottage number 19. It was musty smelling in the bedroom and especially the drawers. The bathroom is very small. Housekeeping staff was wonderful. The front desk staff were not friendly to us at all. I never saw anyone working at the marina.

Room Tip: Poolside efficiencies are very small and only good for 2 people. 2 people and a small child would be too cramped.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

We are sorry to hear your experience with us was not to your satisfaction. Our Marina is open from 7am to 5pm and the only time they are not inside the marina is when they are helping a guest at the dock. We thank you for letting us know about the musty smell in the bedroom drawers. We have replaced the dresser. We would have replaced this immediately had you have let us know while you were here.

Our front desk staff said that you were unhappy on your departure as you had spoken to a guest who had received a discount with our Fall Special coupon. This was posted in late July on our web site. This guest booked their vacation after the coupon come out, so therefore received the fall Special. Your reservation was made in June and the coupon clearly states that it is not available to a confirmed reservation previously made before the coupon came out. We hope you will return to the Castaways to see that we take our guests comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews