We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage #16”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Otis Orchards, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage #16”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I both totally enjoyed our stay at your facility. Room was clean and well maintained. The maid Ellen did a great job supplying us with towels and cleaning when needed.
We checked in with Joan and she was very helpful, friendly and gave us great info for things to do and see while we were there.

Room Tip: Cottage #16 is great for a couple, any more than that you would definitely want a different cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Castaways Beach and Bay Cottages for your recent stay on Sanibel Island. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and found our staff helpful. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Rick Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    169
    45
    18
    23
See reviews for
201
201
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We would like to thank the management of the Castaways for going above and beyond! We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and had reserved Unit 17 for our first trip to Sanibel. When we arrived for check-in, the management informed us they had upgraded our cottage to an oceanfront unit, in honor of our anniversary! We were thrilled by their generosity! We had a wonderful time toasting 40 years together, as we watched the sunset from our oceanfront screened-in porch. We recommend the Castaways to anyone who would like a true Sanibel experience. The cottage was clean, and while equipped with modern conveniences, was still a charming reminder of the past.

The Williams Family

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review and once again congratulations on your 40th wedding anniversary . We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you visit us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft myers fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had a wedding there and every person on staff beside Kenny the maintenance guy was rude. The whole time I planned my wedding they gave me nothing but trouble and each phone call was a different answer. Every time I had trouble talking with staff the manager was never around to help. I tried telling her what happened after the wedding and she did not even care. The room was older but it was fine for the location. The view is what you pay for not the room. Stay else where if you do not want problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs1230123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
While your view is appreciated we would like to point out that every effort was made to accommodate you and your wedding party. We specialize in quiet intimate weddings but was not informed by you of the size of your party. We did receive complaints from other guests about the noise of your party, even though you were informed of Sanibels noise and lighting audience. I was informed by you that unless your wedding was refunded, you would put bad reviews on trip advisor. I am very sorry you felt this way. I am happy you liked our beautiful Sanibel Island location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in cottage number 19. It was musty smelling in the bedroom and especially the drawers. The bathroom is very small. Housekeeping staff was wonderful. The front desk staff were not friendly to us at all. I never saw anyone working at the marina.

Room Tip: Poolside efficiencies are very small and only good for 2 people. 2 people and a small child would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are sorry to hear your experience with us was not to your satisfaction. Our Marina is open from 7am to 5pm and the only time they are not inside the marina is when they are helping a guest at the dock. We thank you for letting us know about the musty smell in the bedroom drawers. We have replaced the dresser. We would have replaced this immediately had you have let us know while you were here.

Our front desk staff said that you were unhappy on your departure as you had spoken to a guest who had received a discount with our Fall Special coupon. This was posted in late July on our web site. This guest booked their vacation after the coupon come out, so therefore received the fall Special. Your reservation was made in June and the coupon clearly states that it is not available to a confirmed reservation previously made before the coupon came out. We hope you will return to the Castaways to see that we take our guests comments very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We love this place. Right on the beach, next to a general store open til 9p, and one of our favorite restaurants (Lazy Flamingo). Rooms are clean and everything works. Pool onsite with plenty of chairs. Innkeepers are friendly and acommodating. Also have a marina on site where you can rent kayaks, canoes, or bikes. Literally one of those places you can park your car and never have to drive it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we are pleased to hear how much you loved your experience staying at the Castaways, and we really enjoyed your quote “its one of those places you can park your car and never have to drive it” We look forward to you visiting us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I and our 30lb lab mix stayed at Castaways last week. We booked at Castaways because they are dog friendly. It was the perfect place for us! We stayed in the red house on the marina. We brought out small boat and it was nice to have our boat right by the cottage. We fished and caught lots of redfish and snook. We really enjoyed the Sanibel and Captiva Island area. Bill in the marina was very nice and helpful. The rooms were simple but provided everything we needed. We liked having the kitchen in our cottage. We will come back next September and are planning staying an extra night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, General Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love that our guests are able to bring their pets so they can enjoy their vacation too. We look forward to seeing you again next September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay at Castaways. We really enjoyed the trip. The location on the beach was great. Lots of wonderful shelling. We stayed in beach cottage #1. Lots of room for us and our pets. Our labs loved easy access to the water. They are pet friendly and even provided a set of temp pet ID tags with the Castaways phone number in case the dog(s) got loose. There was an outside cleaning facility for fish and shells, which was quite convenient.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. The cottage was clean and the kitchen had all of the needed cooking utensils and a picnic grill outside. If you want a resort style vacation, this is not for you. If you want a relaxing, beach vacation, in a less-commercialized area, this is the place....Not having wireless in the cottage was a drawback but you could access a network near the marina.
We will visit there again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Castaways. We are glad you had a relaxing, beach vacation. We have now installed a wireless router in cottage number 1, so on your next visit you will have super fast high speed internet. We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
8.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,346 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
8.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
6.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,828 reviews
6.1 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Cottages of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Property: Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Address: 6460 Sanibel Captiva Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Cottages of Sanibel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterview cottages, efficiencies, or motel units are surrounded by the Gulf of Mexico and beautiful Sunset Bay. Discover miles of sandy beaches, shelling, fishing, swimming, or just relaxing Island style. The Castaways is a touch of paradise you're sure to remember. World-class shelling and bird-watching. Great fishing from our private docks or in the Gulf of Mexico.Marina with canoe,kayak and bicycle rentals, charter captains, bait and other sundry items.Three restaurants and general store within walking distance. Heated swimming pool. Pet-friendly units available for guests who want their 4-footed friends to enjoy a true family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Castaways Cottages of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Beach And Bay Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Castaways Beach And Bay Hotel
Castaways Beach And Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing