We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to stay longer next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I and our 30lb lab mix stayed at Castaways last week. We booked at Castaways because they are dog friendly. It was the perfect place for us! We stayed in the red house on the marina. We brought out small boat and it was nice to have our boat right by the cottage. We fished and caught lots of redfish and snook. We really enjoyed the Sanibel and Captiva Island area. Bill in the marina was very nice and helpful. The rooms were simple but provided everything we needed. We liked having the kitchen in our cottage. We will come back next September and are planning staying an extra night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, General Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love that our guests are able to bring their pets so they can enjoy their vacation too. We look forward to seeing you again next September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 534 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay at Castaways. We really enjoyed the trip. The location on the beach was great. Lots of wonderful shelling. We stayed in beach cottage #1. Lots of room for us and our pets. Our labs loved easy access to the water. They are pet friendly and even provided a set of temp pet ID tags with the Castaways phone number in case the dog(s) got loose. There was an outside cleaning facility for fish and shells, which was quite convenient.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. The cottage was clean and the kitchen had all of the needed cooking utensils and a picnic grill outside. If you want a resort style vacation, this is not for you. If you want a relaxing, beach vacation, in a less-commercialized area, this is the place....Not having wireless in the cottage was a drawback but you could access a network near the marina.
We will visit there again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Castaways. We are glad you had a relaxing, beach vacation. We have now installed a wireless router in cottage number 1, so on your next visit you will have super fast high speed internet. We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This is my relaxing place. I have been coming to this hotel since I was a teenager. Things have changed on Sanibel/ Captiva like hurricanes and development, but Castaways seems to have stayed the same.

We always brought food or made sure to stop at the Publix before coming over the bridge. Now Sanibel has choices of where to get groceries. We usually eat what we bring and go out to eat two nights. Plenty of fantastic restaurants/ landmarks to choose from.

I loved that our cell phones had terrible service, no one could reach us and we spent our days outside. Now, reception is a little better.

I couldn't wait to bring my husband to Castaways. When he proceeded to take out his laptop to see what he could do in the area, I opened the door and pointed to the beach... "There it is!" He gets it now and dreams of Castaways like I do.

We usually try to reserve number 7, but we have stayed in other units on the Gulf of Mexico; Two bedroom units, full kitchen, living area, and a nice porch when it rains. It is not a lavish hotel. It is a relax at the beach and forget the world for awhile hotel. They allow pets, which is why we don't mind the price...so much. Everyone gets to come. :)

We rarely use the pool, but it's there. We do use the kayaks to go exploring. There is shopping in town and fishing boats to be chartered.

As I'm writing this review, I have the urge to plan our next vacation at Castaways. I guess it's the precious family time, the smell of the salt air, the sand on the floor, the memories made that makes Castaways so special.

We tried to plan our wedding here, but at that time only their sister property would accommodate us; they were to big for what we wanted. I did have my "Batchelorette" weekend here. Castaways will do weddings now.

This is a beach hotel. No frills, just great memories. Enjoy!





  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConLaLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, General Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us at The Castaways. Sanibel has a very unique and relaxed culture where guests can enjoy the wonderful beaches, sunsets, fishing and shelling. We are glad you appreciate our beautiful island and look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just finished a week at Castaways. We stayed in the beachfront cottages. The cottages were in good shape for the age of the resort. The Sea Shelling was great just out the back door of our cottage. Hours of entertainment for our children. Beautiful sunset view from the porch.
Castaways is just south of Captiva and about a 20 minute drive to Sanibel shops and restaurants. There is a little convenience store with a deli and ice cream right across the street.
We spent most of our days swimming in the ocean. We were surprised how warm the water was.
Bring your baby power - it helps remove sand from your feet and believe me there is plenty of sand!
The staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Spend a little more money and go for beach front cottages - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEH-KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, General Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

We just finished a week at Castaways. We stayed in the beachfront cottages. The cottages were in good shape for the age of the resort. The Sea Shelling was great just out the back door of our cottage. Hours of entertainment for our children. Beautiful sunset view from the porch.
Castaways is just south of Captiva and about a 20 minute drive to Sanibel shops and restaurants. There is a little convenience store with a deli and ice cream right across the street.
We spent most of our days swimming in the ocean. We were surprised how warm the water was.
Bring your baby power - it helps remove sand from your feet and believe me there is plenty of sand!
The staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Thank you for taking the time to review our cottages. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Castaways and especially the shelling; people visit us from all over the World with shelling on their mind, as it is one of the Worlds best locations to shell. The average temperature of the Gulf is 71 degrees Fahrenheit in the winter and 84 degrees Fahrenheit in the summer. The beachfront cottages overlook the Gulf of Mexico to the west which is where you get to view amazing sunsets.
Once again thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is our second stay at this resort, very pleasant and rustic cottages. Some are located west of the highway on the beach, the other are on the bay side. The cottages are well appointed with refrigerator and other amenities. Be sure and decide what it is you will need as some cottages do not have a stove. There is cable TV and wifi, except it is not extended to the cottages on the beach side. There is a marina where you can schedule a boat ride, sunset watching or fishing. Restaurant within walking distance ( 2/10 of a mile) is the Sunset Grill and a convenience store next door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MannyinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, General Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your repeat stay with us, we do now have internet access in our beachfront cottages. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The great news is they replaced all beds and ac units. This time we stayed in unit 27 on the Marina. This is not the Ritz but its old Florida. You can fish off the pier an plenty 3 restaurants are in walking distance

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Cottage 27, located directly on the bay. We are pleased you enjoyed sleeping on our new beds and mattresses that we have recently had installed in all of our units. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This location is fantastic, just a short walk to the beach! I feel this is the only reason this establishment exists! Constant flow of new customers :).
I recently booked a unit to for 3 day getaway. Upon arrival my unit, unit #39 was extremely warm, as if the housekeeping staff just turned on the A/C at the designated 4pm room availability time. This A/ C unit was cut into the side of the cottage and faced directly into the bed, severely limiting air flow and made for very uncomfortable nights sleeping with constant A/C blowing on your body. Even though we had set the A/C to its lowest setting the room never reached an acceptable temperature. This Unit is in serious need of updating, all fixtures, kitchen sink, bathroom sink and shower have rust on them, the bathroom walls have mold and I actually had to spray insect killer that I purchased myself to kill ants in the unit. I especially loved the used dried out sponge the resort provided to wash dishes! This I threw away! DISGUSTING! The ceiling fan had rust all over it and was just as unappealing as the bedding provided with visible stains on them.
This unit did come with an in-unit refrigerator… Upon opening the refrigerator I immediately noticed a fowl smell. I emptied all ice from ice trays, cleansed the trays thoroughly, filled them and placed them in the freezer. My stay was 3 days, the ice never froze! The freezer was caked over with layers of ice and is in dire need of a defrosting! The refrigerator barely kept any of our beverages cool, any leftovers we had from dining out were discarded due to the inefficiencies of the refrigerator and risks of becoming ill.
The television in the unit is the old school CRT screen type, the picture jumps on the screen, I know you don’t come to Sanibel to watch TV, but when it rains it’s nice to have a TV that works especially for the room rate price.
The bath room was very disappointing, water pressure for showers was nonexistent, and was very cramped. There was mold on the bathroom wall, severe cracks within the gout of shower tiles and rust on the drains / bath tub.
The outside screened in porch was nice although missing an exterior fan, the painters who painted, got paint all over the screens, this just screamed amateur hour! The unit is actually 1 of 4 sliced up from 1 house with very thin walls, the outdoor porches are so close you are an arm’s length away from you neighbors.

If you stay in unit 39 be ready, at about 8:30 each morning there will be a private kayak company renting kayaks, paddle boards etc. about 10 ft from your porch, this makes morning breakfast most enjoyable!

I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend this establishment to friends or family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationer768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed our fantastic location. We have been undergoing extensive renovations to our resort. At no time was a manager or any of our office staff approached during you recent stay with us, so that we could have addressed your concerns and improved your island experience with us. If you had let us know that you were not satisfied with your room, we would have looked to upgrade you to one of our newly renovated rooms with new split A/C units. We always try to work closely with our guests to ensure they have a memorable vacation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
8.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
327 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,549 reviews
8.7 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#19 of 20 in Sanibel Island
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
724 reviews
6.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Cottages of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Address: 6460 Sanibel Captiva Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $142 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Cottages of Sanibel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterview cottages, efficiencies, or motel units are surrounded by the Gulf of Mexico and beautiful Sunset Bay. Discover miles of sandy beaches, shelling, fishing, swimming, or just relaxing Island style. The Castaways is a touch of paradise you're sure to remember. World-class shelling and bird-watching. Great fishing from our private docks or in the Gulf of Mexico.Marina with canoe,kayak and bicycle rentals, charter captains, bait and other sundry items.Three restaurants and general store within walking distance. Heated swimming pool. Pet-friendly units available for guests who want their 4-footed friends to enjoy a true family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castaways Cottages of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Beach And Bay Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Castaways Beach And Bay Hotel
Castaways Beach And Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing